1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

It is love?… August 6, 2010

Filed under: thoughts — axinia @ 7:53 am

When you see someone is making mistakes, making trouble for you and your loved ones, and still…

you feel so much compassion that you just keep supporting and helping out, helping out…

quite silly because nothing really helps. So far.

 

 

12 Responses to “It is love?…”

  1. amy Says:

    I’d call that enabling.

    Lovely photo, by the way.

    Peace.

  2. mahesh chendake Says:

    Feeling mercy is not love!!!
    You know one story I heard from my grand mother, once one person caught by police and when his crime was finalized he sentenced death by court. In jail they ask what is your last wish? he said, I want to meet mother . They allow. He called mother near and told,I want to tell something in your ear. so she goes closer. Then he whisper , When i was small and when i first time stolen a small article you protect me, and indirectly encourage me so that gradually my fear reduced and I become total criminal. if you would have punished me that time I would not have become criminal. then he bite her ear very strongly so it cut. then people ask why you do that ? he answered nothing. he walk towards …
    So loving someone means it is not, to protect his mistake. If really you feeling something and want to improve him you have to have correct him at right time. of course there may be tender ways….

    • axinia Says:

      dear mahesh, a wonderful story! (you are a master of interesting stories!)

      however…why don’t you think that helping out actually means correcting?

  3. Terry Says:

    Helping may not be a “decision” we make. An act of true compassion does not have a goal.

    There is the story of the yogi crossing a river who picks up a scorpion that has fallen in the water and carries it across in his hand. The scorpion repeatedly stings him as they crossed the river. When they reached the other side the scorpion asks why the yogi saved him, knowing that the scorpion could sting him. The yogi replies it is his nature to help and the scorpion’s nature to sting. Nothing can change that.

    Mark Twain had a different perspective. “If you pick up a starving dog and make him prosperous, he will not bite you. This is the principal difference between a dog and a man.”

    • axinia Says:

      terry, wonderful as usual!
      this “scorpion” story is my favourite, I love to tell it to people who are upset with someone’s continious bad behaviour.

    • Triveni Says:

      i narrated this story to my friend who was in lot of pain due to irrational and unreasonable behavior of her loved ones. This truly relaxed her and gave her lot of peace. Thanks for sharing it terry. I hope i too remember this if i need some soothing when i see something that doesnt make any sense to me.

  4. Is it me?

    Axinia dear, I really wonder if you had an undesirable like me in mind while creating this post 😕

    I know I have earned the hatred and wrath of many here by constantly saying things (that are unpleasant to hear) about the way things actually are among the hordes and hordes of certain uncouth “cultures” 😐

    Have I also annoyed you with such a frequency and magnitude 😯 that I have done enough to earn the hatred of even someone like you 😦 Boo hoo! I really feel terrible 😥

    You remember the time when I asked you about myself and you stated only the positives when I actually wanted to know the flaws? I’m still waiting to hear the negatives even now. I’d rather wish you told me directly, straight to my face, either publicly or in private, about my undesirable, unpleasant behaviour if I’m causing you any trouble, proving to be a nuisance 😐

    🙂

    • No answer yet? Please? 😦

      • axinia Says:

        Dear Raj, how could you even think of it???!!!??? by no means i meant you!! 🙂
        I worte this post really meaning someony, a close friend who is very infanatile and is not able to take responsibility for his and his family life. Quite a typical situation for a modern Western person….:(

        • Whew! That does come as a big relief! 😐

          I’m very sorry to hear of your friend’s situation 😦 At risk of sounding so stupidly repetitive, if it is not an exception and has become typical, then I guess it’s because of the intentional destruction of the solid Christian values of Western society and its slow replacement with a crappy, worthless culture of trash and deliberate dumbing down (by the forces that control the world) as a part of the deliberate turd worldisation of the civilised societies. Oops, there I go again…

          🙂

  5. Triveni Says:

    To feel that compassion for someone so troublesome is godly for me. 🙂 hope i too get that state of mind someday


Leave a Reply

