1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

Men’s day: a tribute to my father February 23, 2010

Today they celebrate the so-called “Men’s day” in Russia. Officially, as the name Defender of the Fatherland Day suggests, the holiday celebrates people who are serving or were serving the Russian Armed Forces (both men and women), but unofficially, nationally it has also more recently come to include the celebration of men as a whole, and to act as a counterpart of International Women’s Day on March 8.

I feel it’s a good occasion to say a few warm words about my father who is an amazing person. A father’s role in a girl’s upbringing is often underestimated. In reality a father is crucial, for he serves a model of male virtues and behaviour, motivates and fascinates… I have always been a “dad’s daughter”, I took after him not only in my appearance but also a lot in my character, attitude to life and values.

I had a great luck with a father who gave me high standards of human values such as idealism, honesty, intelligence, balance, trust to people, positivity, responsibility, discipline and honour. My father was born 1949 and belonged to the generation that dreamt of becoming cosmonauts (space men) and candidly believed in the glory of Communism. He became a paratrooper, man of airborne troops and served till the rank of colonel. He was a true officer at heart, dedicated and noble in an old-fashioned manner. He served 2 years in Afghanistan war at 80-s and later on graduated from the Frunze Military Academy (for post-graduates military) in Moscow with a degree in Military Analytics and Strategy. Well, he made a good career and has had an interesting life.
Although the above description may sound too tough, my father has a very balanced nature: he plays guitar and sings, paints very good and he is a very loving and gentle person with a great sense of humour! And (!) he is a non-drinker, which is an absolute rarity in Russia (I am so thankful for this, for I see the horror of male alcoholism from which so many Russian women suffer).

After my father retired, it has been a rather difficult process for him to adjust to the “civil” life, with its strange for a soldier rules… I enjoy seeing him now, exploring history and cosmos with his great intellect and starting seeking spirituality after the whole life of hardcore atheism. A beautiful life development.

And yes, what else can I add to it?

Спасибо, папа. Я тебя очень люблю!!

 LOVE; axinia

(image: it’s a recent photograph of my father, although he is 60 now he looks really great! I wish I could look so good at his age :)).

 

13 Responses to “Men’s day: a tribute to my father”

  1. Gaurav Says:

    Just wanna say … its written with heart full of love.. really nice to read .

    JMS jI
    Gaurav
    kl ,Malaysia

  2. Lovely post and tribute, Axinia! So, you’re a “papa’s girl” 😛 – most girls are “papa’s girls” anyway 😉 And your dad does look much younger than his actual age!

    … and starting seeking spirituality after the whole life of hardcore atheism.

    Look at the power girls have over their papas! 🙂 Even a lifelong communist non-believer in the imaginary entity has been made to change his ideas by his little girl 😛

    😉

    • axinia Says:

      thanks, dear 🙂 In that case I am not along, my mom and my siter are also spiritual…
      As for “papa’s girl” it is still me, my sister was not really that.

  3. mirel Says:

    terrific! your dad is a sophisticated distinguished personality and quite frankly looks very handsome:)))

    I am a daddy girl, always have been and always will be, nomatterwhat he passed away long time ago (but…i am momy girl too). I know what you mean…..i learned a lot from his deeds and words, too: he did not try to recreate those moments that I had with mom; he always figured out his own special bonding way.
    Any men can be a father, but it takes someone special to be a dad!

  4. Dmitri Says:

    beautiful post axinia. indeed your father looks younger!!!

  5. swaps Says:

    Thanks Axinia for the much awaited post 🙂
    A Communist, a paratrooper, a space enthusiast … he is from an era I long for, this is strongly nostalgic!! I say, he has had a very good life… esp having two daughters!!

  6. kanagu Says:

    Girls always share special bond with their dad 🙂 bless that 🙂
    And your dad is so cool… He plays guitar and sings… WOW… the armies will always harden the soldiers…
    My salute to the colonel…

  7. Lakia Says:

    Seems like someone is a Daddy’s girl lol that’s awesome! Nice post…

  8. radha Says:

    yes the much awaited post! Happy Men’s day to the colonel from another papa’s girl on teh globe 🙂

  9. SovietZar Says:

    A real man, great father, great professional and I’m sure he is or was a great son and mate.

    In Spain there isn’t a special day for father, excepting the Catholic celebration of “San José Obrero” on March 19 th. There is not a rare thing because here International Day of Woman is not a holiday for women in Spain.

    My father was colonel, serving in Infantry, and I see your father gave you the same valoues that I received from mine.

    Regarding your post, there is no doubt that your father have to be proud for a daughter like you.

    All the best !

  10. […] point I can’t keep myself from paying them my tribute (see my earlier posts on my mother, father, husband, best […]

  11. […] on his amazing nature… He is still full of life, love and good health. My ribute to him is here. […]


Leave a Reply

