1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

My Roman Holidays January 3, 2010

Filed under: Italy,personal,Travel — axinia @ 8:56 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

As every world city, Rome has its flair and very special style… I would call it MAGNIFICENT  – the word that came to my mind the first time I saw Rome many years back and now, having spent a week there I can confirm it. Magnificent – is the first and only word that comes to my mind when thinking of Rome’s beauty.

The weather was rainy most of the time, but even the clouds have been magnificent, making up a great background for the pictures…

I visited many historical places and as well as the modern parts. Interestingly, the Vatican looked as the darkest and most unfriendly place from all. I wonder how can people seek for God in there?

Please enjoy the pictures and thanks for the comments :)!

LOVE; axinia

 

13 Responses to “My Roman Holidays”

  1. swaps Says:

    Yup… very magnificent!
    My fav are the one of rowers with water sparkling at the end of their rows and all the sunny ones.
    So you had a good time 🙂

  2. pooyan Says:

    nice pics, like always 😉
    thanks for sharing …

  3. Sì! Roma è magnifica… grazie per queste immagini! 🙂

    The Italians seem to have a flair for art and design inbuilt in them… they certainly design the most beautiful automobiles in the world, no doubt about that!

    Interestingly, the Vatican looked as the darkest and most unfriendly place from all. I wonder how can people seek for God in there?

    Certainly makes sense and sounds logical… I knew it would be very difficult to feel the presence of Christ in the Vatican 😐

    But Axinia…

    If one particular semi-civilised, badly overpopulated Third World barbarocratic empire that’s characterised by a “culture” that’s an amalgamation of many savage, primitive and uncouth practices can attract many wise seekers who want to find “spirituality” in it and

    If one particular murderous Middle Eastern religio-racist fascist theocracy can attract many pilgrims from a troika of religions who seek to travel to the “holy land”,

    Then a tiny little sovereign city-state ruled by an elected pontiff-king that’s the remnant of an institution that once controlled several empires and kingdoms attracting so many believers who go there to seek “God” begins to make sense and sound logical to me 😐

    All the above three sound the same to me!

    🙂

  4. kanagu Says:

    I couldn’t see the pictures axinia 😦 😦 will see them later….

    have a great year 2010 ahead…. 🙂 🙂 wishing you the best 🙂 🙂

  5. draupadi16 Says:

    DANKE, Axinia für die supertollen Fotos!

  6. leelajesus Says:

    beautiful pictures!

  7. Fatima Says:

    They really are magnificent. They make my mind completely still and I feel at peace. Thanks for sharing~

    • axinia Says:

      what a compliment, Fatima…if my photos make someone thoughtless – this is the greates compliment for me!

      • Fatima Says:

        Oh, you’re welcome. With pictures, especially those taken with an eye for beauty and love, they have so much to say you can’t help but be silent and listen. It’s wonderful.

  8. symilano Says:

    ooohh nice picture axiniaa! i knew u would have come to Rome, i was there too! next time i want to talk to you! 😀
    goodnit

    sil

  9. steve Says:

    Great photos Axinia! As usual.


Leave a Reply

