1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

C.G.Jung: I know God September 24, 2009

Some of my readers may remember my popular post “I do not belive in God”. In that post I claim that I have never believed in God, and even now, being a spiritual person I cannot say I  belive in God. I`d rather say, I know God. It is not the matter of believing, but of knowing.

There was one comment out of 57th left on thas post saying that actually Carl Gustav Jung also said the same thing. Now by chance I have found a video of him saying exactly that!

 

Powerful, isn’t it?

C.G: Jung was a Swiss psychiatrist, an influential thinker and the founder of analytical psychology known as Jungian psychology. Jung’s approach to psychology has been influential in the field of depth psychology and in countercultural movements across the globe.

I highly recommend watching the following video on this impressive personality:

 

LOVE, axinia

 

6 Responses to “C.G.Jung: I know God”

  1. sakhi Says:

    C. G. Jung means a lot to psychiatrist. Though I am not one, I have great respect for the man!

  2. We see ourselves in the mirror, we know we have a face, our eyes see each other…yes we recount our image which we know even when there no mirror…but then we believe that the mirror shows our face and not something else… believing in something is critical, because without assumptions we do not have a base to compare something against…

    We can say we know God because we believe we have “seen” God… I am not questioning the validity of experiences(which beyond all the variables still does have a drop of truth enough for it to be everywhere) but rather trying to point out that the belief we have in the existence(or non-existence) of God and our capability to experience god is quintessential to knowing…

    Further, we first have faith in something for various reasons without questioning it…then we slowly question it and he faith turns into believing…at this if we can prove our faith wrong, we might go back and change our assumptions…and through belief we come to the stage of knowing through more mediation and questioning…

    A poem which I wrote couple of days back on “every man has his own heaven and we do live by believing” think it touches on this topic 🙂

  3. I wonder what kind of “God” Jung knew 😕

    • axinia Says:

      It’s a pity Jung is not there any nore, otherwise I would have advised you to ask him!
      🙂

      • Yes, I would certainly love to have a nice little chat with Herr Jung 🙂

        Thanks for including the second video, Axinia. It was very interesting to hear something about this psychologist and his views. It’s also strange to hear about the relationship between Sigmund Freud and Carl Gustav Jung. Freud seems to be a one-dimensional thinker and a man of vanity from the way he treated his own protégé for thinking in different terms. I wouldn’t consider myself a fan of Freud.

        Jung, on the other hand, earns my profound respect. He seems to have realised that there are “cultural differences” between different societies though many “cultures”, even ones completely isolated from each other, tend to evolve similar practices. It sounds similar to what I believe in – that there is a HUGE ethical and civilisational gap between the way of thinking of the First World and that of the Third World. I hope Jung’s theories also state that human societies mimic the behaviour of water in interconnected jars, i.e., they descend to the lowest common level 😡 like what globalisation is turning out to be – not bringing up the Third World to the level of the First World, but forcefully pulling down the First World to the lowly semi-civilised standards set by the Third World.

        However, the portion I loved the most in the video was this, He (Jung) had an allergy against following. He didn’t want you to follow a guru, he didn’t want you to follow even Christ. He did not want to follow, but he wanted to become an individual. So he did not want anyone to follow him! Doesn’t it sound a bit familiar? 🙂 For that one reason alone, I’m willing to follow Herr Jung’s theories 😉

        🙂


Leave a Reply

