1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

How does it feel like to live “in the flow” May 19, 2009

 (image by me)

Wikipedia: “Flow is the mental state of operation in which the person is fully immersed in what he or she is doing by a feeling of energized focus, full involvement, and success in the process of the activity. Proposed by positive psychologist Mihály Csíkszentmihályi, the concept has been widely referenced across a variety of fields – in the West. Interestingly, for millennia, practitioners of Eastern religions such as Hinduism, Buddhism and Taoism have honed the discipline of overcoming the duality of self and object as a central feature of spiritual development. Eastern spiritual practitioners have developed a very thorough and holistic set of theories around overcoming duality of self and object, tested and refined through spiritual practice instead of the systematic rigor and controls of modern science.

The term “Flow” seems to represent well the state I want to post about now, however the describition of the flow I found in Wikipedia does not appeal to me at all – I found it rather confusing and too complicated.

I never trained on purpose to get into the “flow” but my present life is am amazing example how this can work, actually without you even thinking of it, even knowing of all these theories and science!

Let me give you some examples how it feels like:

-when I want to check my phone for an sms I am waiting for – the sms comes this very moment I touch the phone…

-when I am working I do nto feel I am working…

-when i look for a tel. number of somebody in my emails, at this very moment the email comes where this very person out of the blue suddenly sends me the number…

-when I realise I need some  information I suddenly get it this very moment from a complete irrelevant source…

-when I listen to the music in the bus and watch the crowd passing by, my attention gets automatically attracted to a person who walks in the same rythm with this music, while none of other pedestrians walk in the same rhythm…

-when I am working on a project, I immediately know who are the best people  to contact…

-when I think of someone and this persons rings shortly after, or I give a call and her/him ” oh, I was just thinking of you” – even if it is a rare contact

-when i acomplish my tasks very easy and fast without any effort becaue it looks like everything flows my way…

-when I need help it always comes, mostly form an unexpected side…

-etc…

Everything happens like in a flow, I feel I am on the same wave with the universe, connected to everyone , being a particle in the wind of kindness and light.

I am sure everyone have experiences such situations as I described. In the case of the Flow such things happen all the time, continuously, they become actually the LIFE itself and a word “miracle” looses its meaning. Again, I was never wanting to reach that state, never attended any seminars or a magician 🙂 I can only suspect the Flow being a pleasant side-effect of my sahaja mediation practice.

LOVE, axinia

 

14 Responses to “How does it feel like to live “in the flow””

  1. Lola Says:

    Interesting post, I was looking for the examples of this state. You are right, many people experience similar things but not all the time. Good to hear it is possbile.

  2. sailaja Says:

    Hi Axinia, how true it is!!!! Today only i heard in a speech of HH Shri Mataji that the things work out at their own pace immediately when you want something and it is all the grace of Divine. ” though plants and animals cannot experience the Divinity they have the divine working for them as a plant has each and every leaf exposed to the sunlight by some means. the plant doesn’t know that it has to be done but still that works out”. So when we are GOD realized things will happen in their place. nothing to be worried !!!!.

  3. gypsysioned Says:

    What you describe i too have that constantly in my life..I notice it every day and just marvel at it!! I guess everyone has it..you just have to be aware of it.

    • axinia Says:

      Awereness is the point, what I see is that mostly people have so many great things in life which they are not aware of and do not value much.
      On the other hand, as I mentioned in the post I think the frequency of such things happening differs from person to person.

  4. Ldinka_108 Says:

    Amazing photo! I just LOVE your pictures, Axinia! they usually come very much with the topic…
    this particular one especially – so inviting to be there – in the balance, in the flow…

  5. […] the rest here:  How does it feel like to live “in the flow” Category: Object, taoism | Tags: auto, buddhism, concept, energized-focus, mental, person, […]

  6. […] is the original:  How does it feel like to live “in the flow” Category: Object, taoism | Tags: concept, discip, energized-focus, fully-immersed, hinduism, […]

  7. Molly Says:

    Nice to be riding the wave with you, Axinia!

  8. I think it is luck.

    When I try to cook, some or the other thing comes in between and I always end up eating at hotels. Even yesterday I tried – the gas was out and when I went out to buy new gas, the shop was closed (at 5 O Clock in the evening!). That is what I call luck – bad luck 🙂

    Destination Infinity

  9. What you describe seems to be a lovely experience, Axinia 🙂

    However, such an experience is not for me. I prefer to be a steam-boat that sails against the wind than a sail-boat that usually goes with the wind. I prefer to be a fish that swims against the current than one that gets carried by the current 😐


Leave a Reply

