1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

The timing pressure April 8, 2009

(image by me)

Stress is the one of the most popular words in this part of the world (apparently not so in Russia or India). People claim getting stress by everything possible, not only by work but also by taking care of their families. Life becomes a constant stress.

Leading basically relaxed and happy life, even I can confess using the word “stress” too often…Why? Trying to understand WHAT exactly stresses me, such a happy person, I came to an interesting conclusion: it is ONLY the time pressure! Because no amount of work and tasks outside my work can stress me otherwise, no problems make me feel hopeless and depressed, I easily see a way out of any situation…But this horrible need of being “on time” for everything puts a huge pressure over me. Coming on time to work, meeting deadlines, meeting people on time… The thing why I don’t want to take it seriously is simply because I see that efficiency – at least in my life -mostly does not correlate with this strickt discipline. Some discipline must be there, that is for sure. But trying to be everywhere on time is just too hard.

 I wonder if you share same experiences?

The best way to see how things can work differently is to travel to some other than Western country (say, India or Russia). The relaxed attitude towards work and duties can cut down the material comfort feeling, however things are still being done, and sometimes with much more love and attention than at places where timing is one of the top values… Ideally  one should reach a good balance between being on time and avoiding stress of it,  but obviously a human being can not completely avoid the timing pressure. I heard that some advanced yogis are able to reach the evolutionary state of being “beyond” time – I guess it means one is always on time without even trying it…May be one day I will reach this blissful state too 🙂

LOVE, axinia

 

16 Responses to “The timing pressure”

  1. pochp Says:

    Anything you desire will happen if you’re determined.

  2. I am also with you on this one. Actually, I don’t remember being on time for any appointment. Everyone around me gets tensed (Especially my boss!). But I don’t let such a silly small two dial wrist watch control me, or stress me 🙂 . So, I think it will be stressful only if we allow it to (For me there is no chance of reducing the stress by being on time!! 🙂 )

    Destination Infinity

    • axinia Says:

      DI, “I don’t remember being on time for any appointment.” -working as a sales manager you can allow that??
      🙂

      • In my previous company, my boss used to come to the office half an hour earlier and he was very particular about it. So, I used to go just half an hour late! In this company, my boss comes after me (That’s a record as I am the last guy to enter and leave the office, generally) but he is also the first to leave, most of the time!! I really admire his time management skills 🙂 and keenly learning from him 🙂

        As for clients, one has even told me – You behave like a typical sales guy – taking an appointment for the afternoon and coming by the evening!! You do manage to get away with all that here, but how do you manage with other customers? 🙂

        I have heard that some deals were lost just because of the sales person going late! I just reject such customers – but it has not happened to me till now as some one pushes me to go fast….. atleast on important appointments 😦

        Destination Infinity

        • axinia Says:

          interesing experience, Di!
          But I still think that is onyl possible in India 🙂 because there you have kind of a different time rythmus, that is what every Westerner says.

  3. KFed Says:

    I definately agree with you. It was a while back when I was working at a restaurant that was 30 minutes away that I realized how much stress I would put on my body as I was frantically driving to get there. You know you are already late, then there is the addition of traffic lights, slow cars and anything else that could get in the way.

    I finally had to tell myself…you know what, you ARE already late, there is no amount of yelling at the person in front of you, cursing at the lights and stop signs that is going to get you there any quicker. What you need to do is relax…and just drive calmly. Over the years I have developed more calmness when running late.

  4. swaps Says:

    All of us are busy with petty appointments. But the REAL happening occur at their own good time…like ‘love’, business breakthrough, kids. Because you don’t find happiness, IT finds you. Things have happened with me too often this way (so I am lazy 🙂

    So I tend to say ‘all in good time’.

    • axinia Says:

      yes, basically it is. But there are some things like sheer descipline to come at the office on time 🙂
      Some rules of the game we should obey..

  5. Stress is the one of the most popular words in this part of the world (apparently not so in Russia or India) 😯

    I don’t know about Russia, Axinia, but stress has become a grave problem in India, urban India at least. I know it because I have experienced it 😦

  6. P.S.: The photo captures the child’s innocence brilliantly! Unstressed and without a care in the world, she is full of joie de vivre 🙂

  7. Rambler Says:

    not really, I am from India and I have seen many of my friends and colleagues being under constant stress, money work and even relationship worries.
    May be its more to do with the individual and how he takes life

    • axinia Says:

      I meant that the word “stress” I guess is being much nore used in the West. Especially in the business life there is stress everythere, but my point was about using this word (and thus, making even more stress!!)

  8. archanaccp Says:

    “But trying to be everywhere on time is just too hard.”

    very true…

    But time pressure exists in India too…

    At least i find it very difficult to manage work n home life…time constraint is always there… feel guilty if i cannot give enough time to family…

    I liked the way you see to this
    Archana

  9. Nita Says:

    Axinia, I too suffer from stress due to lack of time but as you mentioned one must have discipline in one’s life! I would hate to lead a life where there was ample time for everything! I guess it’s not in my nature although I would love to have that kind of nature where I was satisfied with doing very little! 🙂

  10. Nita Says:

    By the way nice photo.


Leave a Reply

