1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

Sparkling quotes by R. Tagore December 2, 2008

image by axinia

Normally I am not that fond of quotes, because I believe that there is nothing we can learn from someody else`s experience. But we can get inspired!

These are the words of wisdom by one of my favourite poet, Rabindranath Tagore (1861-1941):

……

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky.

……..

I have become my own version of an optimist. If I can’t make it through one door, I’ll go through another door – or I’ll make a door. Something terrific will come no matter how dark the present.

……..

Nirvana is not the blowing out of the candle. It is the extinguishing of the flame because day is come.

……..

We come nearest to the great when we are great in humility.

……..

Emancipation from the bondage of the soil is no freedom for the tree.

……..

I slept and dreamt that life was joy. I awoke and saw that life was service. I acted and behold, service was joy.

……..

Don’t limit a child to your own learning, for he was born in another time.

……..

Love is an endless mystery, for it has nothing else to explain it.

……..

You can’t cross the sea merely by standing and staring at the water.

……..

We gain freedom when we have paid the full price.

……

We live in the world when we love it.

 

QUOTES BY Rabindranath Tagore

 

14 Responses to “Sparkling quotes by R. Tagore”

  1. Nice quotes Axina. Have heard about him, but not read any of his works.

    Destination Infinity

  2. Nice thought-provokingquotes listed here. Enjoyed reading them!

  3. Sahaja Says:

    I Love Rabidranath’s poems too and I am reading Gitanjali now….They are words of experienced , wise Man’s 🙂
    I am always mesmirized by ur interest and knowledge of Indianism 🙂

  4. swaps Says:

    “Love is an endless mystery, for it has nothing else to explain it.”

    That is it.

    “We gain freedom when we have paid the full price.”
    This should explain all the suffering in the world…we are paying the price (for our ignorance).

  5. axinia Says:

    @Destination Infinity,
    I am totally surprised, that you never read Tagore – in fact, I can’t believe that!!!

    @Mavinkurve, thanks!

    @ Sahaja, my Intrest for “Indianism” is so deep that I am surprised myself. But at the same time I can easliy explain – Indian culture (the essense of it) tourches the SPIRIT, while Western and other cultures – the soul /body. And I am very attached to everthing that is of SPIRIT…

    @Swaps, you picked up some really good ones, thanks. Yes, it is so true…

  6. guqin Says:

    ” Indian culture (the essense of it) tourches the SPIRIT, while Western and other cultures – the soul /body.”

    Axinia, what is the difference between the spirit and the soul? (It may be just a problem of my limitted understanding of the English words.)

  7. axinia Says:

    guqin,
    thanks for the question…I think I better answer in a post, the topic is too important!

  8. Anand Says:

    There are two books that are always on my desk. Rabindranath Tagore’s “Gitanjali” and Khalil Ghibran’s “The Prophet”.

    According to me, both the author’s mentioned above had a tremendous insight on the subtle aspects of life and they portrayed their experience beautifully through their writings.

    Right now, I am reading Tagore’s essays called ” The Religion of Man “. It surprises me how an Indian poet has managed to link both science and spirituality.

  9. radha Says:

    the one of the sea is cool!

  10. Evelien Says:

    Very nice quotes!
    I liked reading them a lot 🙂

  11. Raman Says:

    Tagore had this beautiful knack of writing effortless poetry…no inspirations & no perspiration…words and thoughts used to just flow with him, it seems…a truly blessed one..

  12. Lamar Cole Says:

    Love is a path to the heart that knows its own way.

  13. pooyan Says:

    These are really fantastic, I guess I have choosen a new fave quote, ….

    “Love is an endless mystery, for it has nothing else to explain it.”

    thanks for sharing it.


Leave a Reply

