1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

The Ideal Yogi October 27, 2008

 image by axinia

This is a rather unknown quote by Mahatma Gandhi, one of my absolute favourites. The quote describes an ideal Yogi and, basically, it is what I am personally striving to become.

Some of these characteristics I already posses, many are still far to reach.

But any time I read these words, they put me into Absolute Silence….

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

“Only that one is a true worshipper of God,

who is not jealous,

who is generous to everyone and without any egoism.

Who can bear heat and cold, happiness and harm equally,

who always forgives, is constantly satisfied,

whose decisions are firm and whose mind and soul is surrendered to God.

Who does not cause any evil, who is not afraid of others,

and who is as free of excitement as of worries and fears,

who is pure, efficient at work but yet not touched by it,

who gives up all the fruits of his acting, the good ones as well as the bad ones,

who treats friends and enemies in the same way,

who stays untouched by respect or lack of respect,

who is not pampered by praise but also not depressed if people talk badly of him.

Who likes the silence and the loneliness and who has a disciplined mind.

The yogi is the one in whom all these capabilities are reflected in his life and

who in the midst of a furious storm still sees the sun,

who faces the difficulties and the death,

who with a balanced quiet mind walks over a battlefield or goes to the executioners,

and whose spirit is so joyful that even thunder puts him to sleep.”

Mahatma Gandhi

 

18 Responses to “The Ideal Yogi”

  1. Sahaja Says:

    Thats really great……I never came across this all these days…..best thing I loved is the last line…”
    and whose spirit is so joyful that even thunder puts him to sleep.”

    thanks for sharing Axinia…..and wishing you best!!

  2. axinia Says:

    thanks, dear!
    I indeed need many good wishes to achieve that state 🙂

  3. Scietech Says:

    Wow . . . it looks so tough . . . I think it is beyond me 😦

    But it’s possible for you, Axinia. Wish you good luck in your quest to become an ideal Yogini 🙂

  4. Julyman Says:

    a beautiful article and a beautiful picture, thanks!

  5. kanagu Says:

    Its very beautiful. But that’s a distant thing for me now…. I wish you all the best in achieving this qualities.

  6. axinia Says:

    Scietech, thank you,

    it is very encouraging of you 🙂
    Living in the modern times and being a normal housholder is not that easy to achieve the yogis heights because of the temptations and illusions – I woudl have preffered the HImalayas, but today it will not work out any more (at least with me).

    I am sure all these qualities are quite possible to acheiveif one really strives. And I do! It has been my only desire – to ascent and I am working on it every single day.

    Julyman, thanks!

    Kanagu,
    thank you 🙂 may be one day this “thing” will become close also to you!

  7. Yvonne Says:

    So true… here is a beautiful quote from Gandhi that went around as audio on BBC a few years ago.

  8. axinia Says:

    Yvonne,
    the video is amazing!!!

    I am sure Swaps will love it 😉

  9. radha Says:

    i am reading it to my husband while he is having a relaxing footsoak with water. 🙂 super important sharing , can i quote it in nirmala magazine soon ? r.

  10. axinia Says:

    sure, quote it!
    greetings to both of you 🙂

  11. Sailaja Says:

    Absolutely blissful!!!
    and this is exactly what Lord Shri Krishna describes about the qualities of a “Stitha Pragya” in his “Bhagawat Gita”. so you are almost three fourths stitha pragya!!! Congrats.

  12. axinia Says:

    Dear Sailaja,
    may I ask you what do you mean under “so you are almost three fourths stitha pragya” – do you mean me in person? but you do not know me! 🙂

  13. Sailaja Says:

    based on your words i had concluded that. No sarcasm intended please. i just felt it that way. Though i do not know you personally, i can judge your personality by your thought provoking articles.

    that’s what finally we have to acheive, that should be our final goal to become a yogi or stitha pragya and that we can achieve by shunning our desires, not reacting to anything, which is highly difficult in this materialistic world!!

  14. axinia Says:

    thank you, my dear – that is the highest comliment I can ever get. My blogs are revelating my personality pretty exact – in fact, I am always the same, inside and outside, online and offline 🙂
    I wish we could meet one day and enjoy things we both feel so well…All my love to you!

  15. ReginaR Says:

    Хоть и пока не в “теме”, но решила покапать поглубже – интересно.

  16. priyamwada Says:

    axinia do you know all these lines are inspired from the bhagvad gita…..you can go even beyond these lines after reading gita…its my personal experience…all the best to you….

  17. Olga Chernikova Says:

    Hi, dear friend!
    Most of the things are so true of those who have reached the heights of spiritual development. The only thing I can’t understand is how we can “treat our friends and enemies in the same way”? Does it mean that we have no friends or enemies then? But then we’ll lack all human emotion altogether…
    Still the general idea of all that is very inspiring!
    Thank you! 🙂
    Love,
    Olga

    • axinia Says:

      Olya, good point! 🙂

      To me to treat friends and enemies the same way means to LOVE them same way. Luckily I ahve no enemies, but I know some people who are “difficult”, so what I notice with surprise that I keep the same friendly attitude to them and treat them with respect and positive emotion even if I know that they are not so positive about me (this is really a rare case, but still happens).


Leave a Reply

