1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

What`s in Russian eyes? September 28, 2008

 

In 2001 Mr. G.Bush surprised the world with his memorable description of his Russian counterpart. “I looked the man in the eye,” Mr. Bush said of Putin after their meeting in Slovenia, adding, “I was able to get a sense of his soul.”

In 2008, John McCain told the Republican Jewish Coalition that he saw something else entirely when he met the Russian leader: “I looked into Mr. Putin’s eyes and I saw three things — a K and a G and a B.”

Shortly after Obama said that he wants to pay attention to Putin’s actions, not his eyes. Foreign policy should not be set by an opinion of a leader’s eyes.

I believe there was no other president in the history whose eyes have been such a popular topic 🙂

Another take: I once met a professional in the field of Intercultural communication, she looked at me and said “You must be Russian, you have typical Russian eyes”.Then she explained that Russian eyes look very “open” and sincere, reflecting every movement of the inner being. Later I heard the same from several different persons.

I have no idea what the reason is, but the must be something about it, something what makes people take a note on it again and again…

LOVE; axinia

 

34 Responses to “What`s in Russian eyes?”

  1. swaps Says:

    How true. In the opening scene of the movie “Zerkalo”, the camera approaches the heroine from behind and then her face is shown. What strikes you? The Russian-ness of her eyes.

    At the end of the movie, you have one thought – ‘those eyes’.

    (And your sis, is really a good example).

  2. radha Says:

    they are very innocent. maybe because of the coldness from where they genetically come from. in colder weather i think the body and its parts receive more purification.
    you went back to this template. the Simple journalist you had just before was so beautiful, i liked it better than this one. 🙂

  3. Nova Says:

    Wow! such beautiful eyes!!! They have the world in them!

  4. axinia Says:

    @swaps, I dont know the film, but this example is very intresting, thanks!

    @radha, cold wether as the reason? never thought of that…I suppose that -in sahaj terms – it may have something to do with the fact the Russia in on the world`s agnia 🙂

    and thanks for the tip with the template. I will try this one and see how people react to it. It is not the perfect one, and it misses the softness – but it has the purity, you are right.

    @Nova, these eyes are definitly one of the best I have ever seen in Russia! 🙂

  5. Sahaja Says:

    I have never seen a russian before….but as for this pic here, I sensed a sort of calmness in eyes….a feeling that makes u feel that the person is calm at mind, peaceful and sort of unknown happiness!!

    PS: Beautiful pic and a very beautiful dress!! I love the color combination!!

  6. odzer Says:

    The eyes tell a lot eh. Russian eyes seem to be special.

  7. radha Says:

    your pics make the blog as much softer as you like. i love this template, i find it very versatile: for a piece of journalism, a vignette, a poetry, only a picture..ecc ecc. ah ya i remember the agnya thing, also here China is on the same level moreless but chinese eyes have another kind of charm. I should make a post about them, coz i found out some interesting things abt them 🙂

  8. axinia Says:

    thanks for the support on template!
    i am looking forward to your post on Chinese yes 🙂 please post the link here when it is ready.

  9. wortman Says:

    don’t know if we can see it in the eyes, that someone are russian… but, i look into a face and i see, thats russian or polish. can’t explain why, but in 90 % i’m right 😉

  10. axinia Says:

    rihgt, wortman, I can also see the Russian or Polish face 🙂 This is the so called slavic type.

  11. wortman Says:

    dont know it in english:
    und polnische frauen erkennt man meistens daran, dass sie aufgedonnert wie schmitts katze rumrennen 😉

  12. axinia Says:

    na ja, die Russinen sind in dieser Hinsicht nicht viel besser 🙂 “Aufgedonnert sein” ist negativ in der detschen Kultur, ist aber duchaus positiv im Osten. Es ist eine rein kulturelle Ansicht. Du kannst dir nicht vorstellen, wie sehr man im Osten die europeische “natürlichkeit” auslacht! – Wir alle sind doch sehr von unserem kulturellen Hintregrund geprägt…
    Dazu habe ich einen passenden Artikel
    http://shaktipower.wordpress.com/2006/10/25/spiritual-aspects-of-feminine-beauty/
    Tipp: wenn zu schwering auf Englisch, kannst du Google Page Translator wervenden 🙂

  13. wortman Says:

    Stimmt, dass kann ich mir nicht so vorstellen. Erklärt aber wohl so einiges 🙂

    Ohne den Translator komm ich bei dir auch nicht aus 🙂

  14. Anna Maria K. Says:

    What I see in Russian eyes is the spirit. One should not generalize but Russians are spiritual people deep inside. We all heard about the mysterious Russian soul. I feel it is the spiritual seeking that makes Russian eyes to what they are.

  15. I believe the eyes can express many things 🙂 but I cannot look into the soul of a person just by looking at his/her eyes 😦

    This theme does not seem to be very relevant for your blog, Axinia. I miss the colours and the flowers 😦

  16. axinia Says:

    thanks for your feedback! I will be experimenting with the template for some time, lets see what will come up…

    As for the eyes – I belive I can see quite a lot! It is the most reliable test for me, what person is like. I can not read the soul itself, sure. ´But some essential things – yes.

  17. vishesh Says:

    Lol,i haven’t met any Russians to know about Russian eyes…but in movies i have seen that it is possible to see the difference 😛 And ya i notcied something different about your eyes too 😛

  18. Axina, even I miss your old theme… that was colourful… and very good…

    I love eyes which reflect innocence… Like children (little ones), Russian eyes are slightly misleading us into it? (I mean the innocence)

    Destination Infinity

  19. SunnyInSanDiego Says:

    Having been to Russia I can relate to the expression through the eyes completely. I think it has more to do with the way Russians are more non verbal. They express themselves a lot more through their actions and body language, which is why I think they take such wonferful pictures.

  20. axinia Says:

    @vishesh – thanks, but where have you seen my eyes? There is only one photo on this blog, but I posted it before ou started coming to my blog.

    @Destination Infinity – is that template better? It is even more colourful than the black one…I miss the header possibility but what I really like is the white backgroudn of the text. Hope you like it!

    @SunnyInSanDiego – thanks a lot for your suportive statement and the intresting observation. It is true, body language meand a lot for Russians, but I guees not more than for anyone who lives in the South…and Russians love colours!

  21. swaps Says:

    Axinia. you can play with the template to your heart’s content, BUT keep this avatar.

  22. axinia Says:

    glad you liked it:) but still I am surprised.

  23. vishesh Says:

    i have seen it somewhere for sure..i don’t remember where though…

  24. raman Says:

    Your Pic looks very very good…and, I like most features of Russians – there is a sense of calm in most faces…nothing that signifies any kind of turmoil. The photos of russian woman link is a very good example.

    and as for Bush, McCain & Obama, if they look into each other’s eyes, they’ll understand a lot more about themselves…they can’t look into any forthright tax payer’s eyes within US…and they are talking about others…

  25. axinia Says:

    raman, I like you passage on American polititians – that is a smart suggestiong 🙂

  26. Shirazi Says:

    You are right about eyes. BTW, thise beautiful eyes look like that of an Indian actress. Is that so?

  27. axinia Says:

    thanks, Shirazi 🙂
    As this post is about Russian eyes, I have chosen the photo of a native Russian person -namely, of my own sister.

  28. [g]alina Says:

    i am russian myself and i agree that russian eyes have something in them.. but as to what it is i am not quite sure..
    mine are very blue and a little smaller than yours with full lashes
    some say with the eyes and features you can tell EVERYTHING that crosses the mind. im that transparent haha (:

  29. RussoAngliy Says:

    Hmm I think Russian eyes tend to be big, almond, with big brows.
    Often a heavy lid. I’m only part Russian but I seem to have the Russian eyes – well Russians think so !!

    Almost a slight oriental hint.
    Oh and Russian eyes are the most beautiful in the world IMO!

  30. AK Says:

    Actually green eyes in th epicture are sooo not typical to the russian eyes. It is actually farely rare color. An shape itself is not slavic at all – more oriental. So – if forum is discussing “russian” eyes – the picture is totally irrelevant as it is not typical for slavic shaped eyes. Slavic eyes are more almond shape than deep seated , as in picture

    • axinia Says:

      thanks, Ak i know what you mean…bu these eyes ARE Russian, believe me 🙂
      The form is basically due to make up and Russian women love to shape thier eyes this way.
      As for the colour – I can assure you that greenery eyes are very much common all over Russia!

  31. Valeria Says:

    How many-many times people, looking into my eyes, asked me if I was Russian – straight like this. My eyes, in shape, are very similar to to eyes above, in color more blueish-grayish, light eyelashes and brows (I am naturally medium blond). Every time it surpises me a lot since for the last 15 years I have lived in New York City and I have been working with Germans since I’ ve graduated from college. How do they know?! OK, this happens when I do not say anything. When I open my mouth, though, people in NY ask me if I am French (influence of German on English?)


Leave a Reply

