1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

A cat tale and my life August 25, 2008

image by vova

I love this cat tail story because I love cats and I am a happy person 🙂

I think that we love stories/books/films, with which we can identify ourselves. So this is a story with which I can identify myself in every sense:

— A cat tale about the tail of a cat —

A big cat saw a little cat chasing its tail and asked, “Why are you chasing your tail so?”

Said the kitten “I have learned that the best thing for a cat is happiness and that happiness is in my tail. Therefore I am chasing it and when I catch it, I shall have happiness.”

Said the old cat “My child, I too have paid attention to the problems of the universe. I too have judged that happiness is in my tail. But I have noticed that whenever I chase it, it runs away from me, but when I go about my business, it just seems to come after me wherever I go.”

————-

LOVE, axinia

 

18 Responses to “A cat tale and my life”

  1. wortman Says:

    what a nice cat. 🙂
    i have 3 cats 🙂

    axinia, i need a little help: does the translater work correct?
    Большое спасибо за похвалу
    (many thanks for the praise)

    absolutely correct! 🙂 axinia

  2. Bad Karma Says:

    Do not chase happiness; focus on doing good in the world, and happiness will follow. =)

    how simple and true! – axinia

  3. Bala Says:

    Very true.
    Not only Happiness, everything in this world is like that. Wealth, possession, love etc. If you chase it, you will never get it, but if you leave it, it will chase you.

    I remember a similar story, it is for love and again applicable for everything.
    Love is like a butterfly, if you try to catch it, you will never win, but if you sit calm, it will come and sit in your lap.

    that is a very beatuiful story, Bala!
    🙂 thanks for commenting TODAY 🙂 – axinia

  4. swaps Says:

    What prompted this post?? Perhaps you got a cat for a gift?

    My grandmother loved cats. My sister has had many tragic love affairs with cats.
    Crazy girls 🙂

    NO, I just foudn this story in Russian and I love it!! – wanted to share with you… Unfortunately I did not get any cat yet.. hope for later 🙂 -axinia

  5. wortman Says:

    Я так рад, что он функционировал так хорошо 🙂

  6. swaps Says:

    Seriously, happiness and sadness being relative or two faces of the same coin,
    if we chase happiness we could be chasing sadness,
    if we shun misery we could be rejecting joy,
    we cannot know.

    So I believe it best to live to discover the beauty (or maya) of life. That is more fascinating and satisfying. I guess by the end, we would have understood this…cat tale.

    (Strangely, it is dogs I often see chasing their tails 🙂

  7. Solveig Says:

    Мой дорогой Ксюшик!
    Этот коммент только для тебя, поэтому он на русском. Хотя, я вижу, тут есть руссопоклонники :-).
    С Днем Рождения!!!
    Будь уверена, что твой кошачий счастье-хвост следует за тобой всегда, а частенько прихватывает с собой и всех, чьи жизни оказываются на твоем, а следовательно, хвостовом пути :-).
    Ждем деньрожденного поста!!!

  8. Raman Says:

    Unfortunately, I am a dog person – but the story is nice.

    Raman, I guess the sory can be well applied to dogs 🙂 – axinia

  9. Thank you for this post, Axinia! I think I can read the deep meaning in this post 🙂

    Felines are the coolest creatures on the planet! I simply love cats as you can see from my logo 😉 🙂 The tiger is also like the domestic cat, just bigger, wilder and more ferocious 😐

    By the way, is this your cat? He (or is it she) looks fabulous! 🙂 My grandmother had a cat just like this one – completely black. He died two or three weeks before my grandmother died 😦

    Swaps,

    It’s not just girls who love cats. Guys like me (and my father, my uncles and my male cousins) love cats too! Infact, one side of my family is completely cat crazy. My aunt has two cats and she feeds another three everyday. My grandmother’s sister used to have ten to twelve cats in her house at the same time. We have just one cat at a time 😐

  10. axinia Says:

    Nice to hear you love cats so much… I think there two types of people “cat-people” and “gos-people” and they have some features of this animals. But this an extra topic for a post! 🙂

  11. wortman Says:

    sorr, axinia, dass ich dich damit nochmal belästigen muss, aber ich hab neuerdings immer wieder russische einträge bei mir 😉
    bei diesem “Ух ты, здоровско” da zeigt der translator nur unsinniges an 😦

  12. axinia Says:

    ich verstehe…das ist sehr umgansprachlich, aber jednfalls ein Lob 🙂 etwas wie “hey, das ist klasse!”

  13. wortman Says:

    dann bin ich ja beruhigt 😉 und danke nochmal.

  14. Raman Says:

    Meanwhile, just remembered – CAT is considered to be a fickle creature in Indian Culture. It is said that one has to gift gold to the poor if s/he finds even 1 CAT hair inside the house; another popular Indian myth is that it is a bad omen if a CAT crosses your path – some ill will surely befall you – the corrective measure to be adopted is to either sit (if you can find a place) or have a glass of water (if available) or say a small prayer to Hanuman (the monkey god) before you proceed (if the option 1 & 2 are not possible).

    I remember reading somewhere (or someone telling me) that Cats are more attached to the place than the owners – meaning, they will be even able to find their way back if you drop them a couple of streets away whereas dogs are poor at that. I have had dogs (even puppies) & cats for pets when I was young and have found that dogs obey rules to the T whereas cats don’t really mind breaking them – so if you aren”t looking, the cat will just dip its tongue into your glass of milk whereas a dog might not drink his milk until you aski him to. Of course, all thei is my amateurish knowledge and I may be way off the mark. Just my experiences.

    Going back to para 1, those myths were basically created to ensure that cats do not live in the vicinity of humans – rats, which happen to be a part of cats’ staple diet, are known to be the origin of many a disease which could be attracted by humans knowingly (such as by petting the cat or playing with it) or unknowingly (such as drinking the same water / consuming or coming in contact with something that is polluted by cat feces).

    Gosh!! You may as well bar me from writing on your posts…sorry axinia, just thought will share these..

  15. axinia Says:

    Raman, very valuable input, thanks!I miss your long and informative comments here 🙂 always welome!

    Cats have benn always a mystery for humans, they are important but also feared… Another thing is that a cat can really cure, if it lays down on the spot of pain on your body ( they believe to suck out the bad energy)…

    What I relly love about cats is that they understad THE PLAY. The really play with you – at the same time, dogs take everything seriously :))

  16. I love a good cat story, I have 40 kitties and they all have
    there own personality, and they are unique in there own little
    way.

  17. dinesh kumar Says:

    Meanwhile, just remembered – CAT is considered to be a fickle creature in Indian Culture. It is said that one has to gift gold to the poor if s/he finds even 1 CAT hair inside the house; another popular Indian myth is that it is a bad omen if a CAT crosses your path – some ill will surely befall you – the corrective measure to be adopted is to either sit (if you can find a place) or have a glass of water (if available) or say a small prayer to Hanuman (the monkey god) before you proceed (if the option 1 & 2 are not possible).

  18. Cat is considered to be a fickle creature in Indian “culture”? Then what a filthy, uncouth, turdy thing Indian “culture” must be to consider one of the most wonderful animals on the planet as “fickle creatures”!

    The creatures who hate cats the most happen to be rats 😡 Because rats are turdy, slimy, pea-brained, scampering, scurrying, stinking, rabidly overbreeding pests that spread the plague and prefer to wallow in filthy sewers and drains. I guess that gives an idea of the rat-like nature of the filthy “cultures” that hate cats.

    Cats are almost universally loved and adored as joy-giving pets (even as therapeutic) in many more cultures in the world than even dogs (though dogs are actually more useful to humans than cats). Guess which is the only “culture” in the entire world that hates cats but has an exclusive temple where rats are worshipped? What else can it be other than the stinking filth and uncouthness of regressive, barbaric Indian “culture”? Rat temple? 😮 I’m not joking, check it out by yourself 😯 It isn’t a wonder that rats and rat-worshippers and their filthy “culture” is the only one in the whole world that hates cats.

    Gift gold to the poor if even 1 cat hair is found inside the house? 😆

    Is it because in that particular turdy, feudal, barbaric, cat-hating “culture”, it is considered normal behaviour to rob the poor blind, ill-treat the poor and treat them like sub-humans? That when the filthy home in such a “culture” is “polluted” by a single cat hair, then the normal behaviour is temporarily shunned in order to free oneself of the “polluting presence” of a cat hair and give reluctantly to the poor, who otherwise are legitimate targets for ill-treatment, abuse and exploitation?

    Bad omen? Adopt “corrective measures” when a cat crosses one’s path? 😆

    I feel a tinge of delight and happpiness whenever one of Mother Nature’s most wonderful, most graceful creatures (the cat, of course) crosses my path. Just looking at the sheer grace of the furry animal fills me with a sense of serenity that it is a good omen. I think of it as a sign that the Egyptian cat goddess, Bastet, who is the “Goddess” of PROTECTION, has chosen to signal a good omen by sending one of her sons/daughters across my path (and not what the rat-worshipping “culture” prescribes one to do).

    🙂


Leave a Reply

