1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

What Jerusalem did William Blake mean with his poem? August 20, 2008

There is an exceptionally beautiful poem by William Blake JERUSALEM (1804). They say, the poem was inspired by the apocryphal story that a young Jesus, travelled to England and visited Glastonbury. This legend is linked to an idea in the Book of Revelation ( 3:12 and 21:2) describing a Second Coming wherein Jesus establishes a new Jerusalem. What kind of new Jerusalem? And why in England?

However as usual, with the saintly people and poets one never know the true meaning of the message ( a post on the fascinating story on Michelangelo`s paintings follows!)… I feel that there is so much behind this Blake`s poem  – much more that the regular critisc explain here. 

One of my first posts in this blog was actually on William Blake, for I consider him to be the gratest Western spiritual poet. His panings, prints and poems emit amazing vibrations, and I was lucky enough to touch the originals – post here.

And now- enjoy the Jerusalem by Blake (song):

The poem itself:

AND did those feet in ancient time
Walk upon England’s mountains green?
And was the holy Lamb of God
On England’s pleasant pastures seen?
 
And did the Countenance Divine
Shine forth upon our clouded hills?
And was Jerusalem builded here
Among these dark Satanic Mills?
 
Bring me my bow of burning gold!
Bring me my arrows of desire!
Bring me my spear! O clouds, unfold!
Bring me my chariot of fire!
 
I will not cease from mental fight,
Nor shall my sword sleep in my hand,
Till we have built Jerusalem
In England’s green and pleasant land.—————-

LOVE, axinia

 

11 Responses to “What Jerusalem did William Blake mean with his poem?”

  1. John Noyce Says:

    Jeruslaem can also be seen as the Divine Feminine, see my brief comments:
    http://historye.blogspot.com/2005/07/william-blakes-jerusalem-as-divine.html
    I expand on these comments in my recent book on the Wisdom tradition.

  2. axinia Says:

    That is intesting, John Noice! I have never heard of that version…
    let me quote a passage from your post:

    “Blake additionally suggests ‘Jerusalem’ as a female counterpart to the male ‘Albion’. In The Four Zoas Blake refers to “Jerusalem which now descendeth out of heaven, a City, yet a Woman” and in Jerusalem provides in plate 46 a powerful portrayal of the female Jerusalem with her daughters.”

    amazing!

  3. Was Jesus believed to have visited England? There are many people who believe that Jesus Christ survived crucifixion, visited India (Kashmir, to be precise) and even lived here for some time 😐 And they are not Christians. They are followers of Islam (mainly Sufism) and Hinduism and Buddhism who believe that a saint called Isa Yuz Asaf (Jesus, son of Joseph, in Kashmiri) from a distant land visited Kashmir, lived here and even died here. They believe that the The Rozabal Tomb in the Kan Yar District of Srinagar is actually the tomb of Jesus Christ.

    http://in.youtube.com/watch?v=9DXCZFRsyl8

    (Due to the filthy policies of the notorious criminal politicians 😡 and their corrupt bureaucratic stooges 😡 in the central government of India, Kashmiris living on the Indian side of the Line of Control don’t consider themselves as Indians 😐 )

  4. Here is the link to a site about the “Tomb of Jesus”:

    http://www.tombofjesus.com/2007/index.html

  5. axinia Says:

    An alien Earthling, thanks for the link and the information – I ma sure many reareds will appreciate!

    My freidns visited the thomb of Jesus in Kashmir and told many itnresting things aoub it (like the is a a Mulsim saint bured a net to him, and the Kashmir Military people do not like forgeigners going there)…

    I personally believe that Christ lived in India (even before his Chrisifiction) – there is a note in the INdian scrips of the Kind SHalivahana how met him and said he has to go back to Israel to save his people…
    YOu know it is quite easy to find out what is true and what not by just checking the vibrations 🙂

  6. Thanks, Axinia. I have not read the Bible or about the life of Jesus Christ in detail but I have heard that there is a period in his life for which very little details are available. Do you think Christ could have visited India (and maybe even England) during this period?

    Kashmir has had a long history of secularism. From what little I know about Islam, Jesus (I think he is referred to as Nabi Issa in Arabic) is considered a prophet by Muslims. I would not be surprised if Kashmiris believe that Christ visited their ancestors and lived among them.

    Sadly, after 1947, this beautiful Himalayan mountain paradise (Kashmir can be considered to be one of the claimants to the place that inspired Shangri-La) has been torn apart by violence and brutalities of different kinds. When I was a kid, I remember taking a pledge regularly in school that began like this “India is my country and all Indians are my brothers and sisters . . . ” Ofcourse, I considered, still consider and will continue to consider Kashmiris as my brothers and sisters till I die. But unfortunately, that is not the case with many (yes, not just some but many) Indians (including some from my own state). The amount of hatred they have in their hearts for the Kashmir Valley and Kashmiris (and for me for regarding Kashmiris as my siblings) just makes me sick. They brand everyone from Kashmir as “terrorists”, “Pakistanis” and so on for just being Kashmiris and support all kinds of discrimination against people from the Kashmir Valley. It is such people that I cannot consider as my siblings. I just hope that when Jesus decides to return to the Earth, he comes to Kashmir and not Glastonbury. England does not need a Second Coming of Christ. India badly needs it!

  7. axinia Says:

    An alien Earthling,

    that is a powerful comment, thank you!

    I really like the last sentence 🙂 But as far as I know Jesus was not going to come back (at least the Bible does not say it that way) – se promised to send “Th comforter and Redeemer”… I find it great that you recognize that the essence of the problem lays actually in the LACK OF FORGIVENESS, and forgiveness was the message of Christ.

    Regarding the life of a young Christ, it is indeed interesting that there si nothing mentioned about it in the Bible – obviously because he was not his country and nobody could see him. I am quite she he went to India, because India in the most attractive place for all spiritual people. If you compare the healing powers of Christ and his ability to perform miracles and walk on the water…it is all rather typical for the Yogis (there have been always some, very few but capable of such things) – it is in the “Indian” style I would say. But of course, Christ was more than just a great yogi, much more…

  8. “But as far as I know Jesus was not going to come back” 😦 😦 😦

    I agree that Jesus was someone who was much, much more than a yogi . . . he may have visited India for a spiritual experience . . . there are several similarities between the teachings of Buddha and Christ 😐

  9. cheese Says:

    …………………………………….pie

  10. Mark Thompson Says:

    The battle between humanity and nature. England is a small country and is easily exploited. It does not have to be about Jesus, simply the intimate fight between mother nature and man.

  11. Rowland Wateridge Says:

    There remains a strongly surviving tradition in England that while still a boy Christ came to Britain (England did not exist as a separate country until centuries later) travelling with Joseph of Arimathea who was possibly his uncle.
    There were regular visits by traders from the Mediterranean countries to Britain at that time, particularly to those parts which are now the West of England and Cornwall.


Leave a Reply

