1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

The Theory of Six Degrees of Separation works! August 5, 2008

 image by utro.ru

This is what I always felt – it`s a small world! Being an active and communicative person, I literary know thousands of people in person and many virtually. And the more people I get to know, the more I realise how small and cute the world`s village actually is! 🙂

The six degrees of separation argument, popularised by American psychologist Stanley Milgram (1967), posits that everyone is one degree removed from people they know, two degrees from people their friends know and no more than six degrees away from everyone on the planet.

The Microsoft team came up with the idea of using data from their Messenger client. The researchers took an IM message between two unnamed individuals as a link and then examined how to connect 180 billion different pairs of users in the database.They found the actual number of links was 6.6, although 78 per cent of the world’s population can be linked in seven steps or less. However, some took over 20 links to find a connection.

One of the researchers on the Microsoft Messenger project, Eric Horvitz, said he had been shocked by the results. “What we’re seeing suggests there may be a social connectivity constant for humanity,” he was quoted as saying by the Washington Post newspaper. “People have had this suspicion that we are really close. But we are showing on a very large scale that this idea goes beyond folklore.”

I find the results not only amazing but also very encouraging. If we realise how small this word indeed is and how much we are all connected … may be it will help us to accept and to love each other?

The only thing…it is silly that we sometimes need some scientific proof to believe in something what is so natural and beautiful – something like “it`s a small world”.

LOVE, axinia

 

18 Responses to “The Theory of Six Degrees of Separation works!”

  1. Nova Says:

    Wow! This is excellent piece of information Axinia

    thanks, dear 🙂
    axinia

  2. Nita Says:

    I read this earlier today and found it fascinating. I am sure that through you now I am connected by just 3-4 degrees of separation to most of Austria! 🙂 I love that idea. I am sure that blogging has decreased this six degrees to at least 5! 🙂

  3. axinia Says:

    great input, Nita 🙂

    I wonder to how many Millions of Indians I am connected now thought YOU!
    🙂

  4. swaps Says:

    Is it really so amazing. (But did they consider North Koreans??)

    6 is wide off the mark. For, true science should tell us the degree of separation is ZERO.
    (Axinia, I am referring to “On the surface of REALITY”).

    This really is ridiculous.

    Because Ernst Mach (Austrian physicist + philosopher) had long ago said existence of every single human being depends on everything else (the blade of grass under your feet to distant planets, stars….every blighted thing).

    Even Heisenberg has spoken about ‘connections’….none of those physicist spoke of separation. As modern men/women we must be thinking not just at the level of personal contact. We must broaden our minds and this is no way. The ‘shocking result’ is, if anything, regressive.

    (Axinia, I expected you to SHRED this result.)

  5. axinia Says:

    Swaps,
    you are right, but we have to be patient to the mankind 🙂
    WE ARE ALL ONE. But it is so ahrd to feel for so many people! People are separated by all possible conditioning, concepts and ego-business…
    I think it could be agreat step for many to realise how actually close we are… One hast to start from somewhere..;) And many people love to start from some scientifil evidence…

    As for the name “degrees of separation” I found it rather silly too – the theory speaks about connections and not separation!!! English language can be quite tricky…

  6. swaps Says:

    OKAY. I will be patient 🙂

    This post reminds me of a person who had attained this zero-degree-of-separation.

    It is said he was once staying at some plantation in South India. One day the mother in the house beat her child. Instantly bruises appeared on his body at exactly the same part where the mother had hit the child !! He was said to have felt the pain of everybody. I have met him. You know, he was EXTREMELY handsome. I had heard of magnetism…he had it.

  7. axinia Says:

    intresting… in fact, I experiecen that often 🙂
    I feel the state of the people around constantly, even if someone has a problem which has not yet physicall manifested…I can feel their pain.

    This sensitivity comes with practicin Sahaja Yoga – you just BECOME the one with everyone.Literary!!

    YOu made the point, my friend – it is the best to feel the conncetion with everyone thought the physical perception. Otherwise it is all philosophical bla-bla…

    P.S: (write me about that person please)

  8. Bad Karma Says:

    It’s when we use these networks that you realize the power of them. In most probability, people probably never interact outside of 2 degrees.

    In the future, your mobile phone may connect you further. Your phone has a contacts list. Someone you may randomly run into, also will have a phone with a contacts list. Your phone can alert you, and say, “Hey, this person also knows your friend Axinia!”.

  9. axinia Says:

    🙂 that is sweet!

  10. Oh, great! Microsoft has done something very cool after a long time 🙂 – I only hope they don’t use the data to market their useless Windows Vista! 😡

    “If we realise how small this word indeed is and how much we are all connected … may be it will help us to accept and to love each other?”

    I would love it if it happens but that is won’t happen anytime soon, I’m afraid 😦

    “The only thing…it is silly that we sometimes need some scientific proof to believe in something what is so natural and beautiful – something like “it`s a small world”.”

    Hmmm . . . I would have never believed it if there was no scientific proof 😐 I hate blind belief 🙂

    “I feel the state of the people around constantly, even if someone has a problem which has not yet physicall manifested…I can feel their pain.”

    I don’t practise Sahaja Yoga, Axinia, but for some unknown reason, I can feel the pain of others to a small extent atleast . . . empathy is something that got into me by some means . . . it makes me angry at times . . . I turn it off by closing my mind and experiencing silence . . . or let it out the anger through blog posts 😐

    I do believe that the world is a village where physical distances are shrinking rapidly . . . and science and technology has brought us closer than ever before and will continue to do so . . . and the internet has spun a web where people can share their thoughts . . . I have discovered that I have more in common with those who live thousands of kilometres away than those within a stone’s throw . . . 😐

  11. axinia Says:

    An alien Earthling,
    thanks for that extended comment, I guess I am one of those wich whom you have much in common and how live thousands of kilometers away 🙂

    you also say:
    I” don’t practise Sahaja Yoga, Axinia, but for some unknown reason, I can feel the pain of others to a small extent atleast”. I wonder HOW does it exactly happens? Do you mean you would physically feel the pain in your hart of you meet a person you, say, suffering from unhappy love or else? Or would you feel the headacke from someone who is thinking too much at the moment?? I am really curious how you percept that. thanks!

  12. Yes, we do have many things in common 🙂

    Well, I don’t know how to explain it . . . I don’t experience the pain like the person described by Swaps . . . but I feel myself sharing their pain and their grief and their suffering and sometimes their happiness . . . as if they form a tiny part in me . . . or as if I form a tiny part in them . . . 😐

  13. axinia Says:

    it is nice what you describe, but it souns like empaphy to me. You are obviously very sensitive and that is beautiful!

    however it is not the sesitivity of a yogi – after getting our self-realisation you experience it much more clear and powerful, and always know on your central nervous system what it is real state of your being and that of others. that is fascinating! And the best thing about it is that you know HOE to help. And you acutally can DO it.

  14. swaps Says:

    “…it is the best to feel the conncetion with everyone thought the physical perception.”

    YES! Spirituality must be physical.

  15. axinia Says:

    Spirituality IS PSYSICALLY perceptable – it was the only thing that acutally convinced me to start doing Sahaja Yoga.
    I was an atheist and sicnetifically oriented – only the feeling of cool breeze was powerful enough to convince me 🙂 No theories or any reliious books had any impact on me.

  16. You can find some practical considerations about 6DoS on blog lindipendente.splinder.com in article «Six degrees of separation»

  17. axinia Says:

    thanks, Dario, that was an interesting read indeed!


Leave a Reply

