1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

Airport ranking – my top 5 most interesting July 24, 2008

I have been travelling by plane since I was a baby. I love airports. I even wanted to become a stewardess :). I have not been around the whole world, but there is a number of airports I have been departing from and arriving at: Vilnus, Moscow (2 airports), Vienna, Paris, Mumbai, London, Istanbul, Milan, Frankfurt, Nizza, Berlin, Zürich, New Delhi, Tashkent, Rostov-on-Don, Khakriv, Doha to name a few I could remember.

Each airport is a kind of a visitcard of a country/city. It is interesting to see how much of the national character  is involved into the design and service of that very special place – airport.

Here is my personal ranking of 5 best airports I have visited so far:

Number 5: Milan airport (Italy), makes rather an out-dated impression (probably build in the 1970s), but has its charm due to the green colour and massive ads of Italian designers:

   

 

Number 4: Moscow airport Domodedovo  (not the big international one, Sheremetievo, which is indeed in a very bad state). The airport is being under construction for quite a time, but it looks really great now and I am sure will be even better when finished.

   

Number 3: airport in Doha (Qatar, an Arab emirate)

I was quite impressed by the architecture and the Arab style of this place. Especially the sepaterd wating rooms for ladies and (!) families were very unusual to me. Nice colours and very clean. Bravo!

  

Number 2: airport in Zürich (Switzerland),

which I found fantastic! There I had a feeling of being in a sci-fi film, or in the next century: it is all very, very cool, slylish and modern (I wonder how the Tokio ariport must look like? 🙂 They have even the underground line connecting terminals.

  

Number 1: Vienna International Airport (Austria)

It is my absolute favourite, because it reflects all I love about Vienna: its cosyness, round shapes, lots of red (colour of the Austrian Airlines) and lovely shops 🙂

   

Some images are mine, the rest belongs to various sources (was not possible to link everyone because of the small images). Hope the authors will forgive me 🙂

And how would YOUR ranking look like?

Thanks!

LOVE, axinia

 

7 Responses to “Airport ranking – my top 5 most interesting”

  1. Wow! Really nice pictures of some of the best airports in the world, no doubt.

  2. andimazlan Says:

    Have you been to Malaysia? I’ve been there last month and its KLIA (Kuala Lumpur International Airport) was quite remarkable.

    Unfortunately no, good to know about it. thanks! axinia

  3. steve Says:

    I’m glad you didn’t include Paris Charle de Gaulle in your list 😉 One to avoid.

  4. axinia Says:

    sure, same reason :)I found the Paris Charle de Gaulle too confusing.
    which one is actually your favourite?

  5. draupadi16 Says:

    BETWEEN TWO FLIGHTS WE HAD AN AMAZING REST IN THE CHAPEL ROOM OF THE AIRPORT FROM ISTAMBUL. WE SLEPT THERE LIKE BABYS IN THIS PROTECTED AREA FOR WOMEN AND CHILDREN.I´LL NEVER FORGET THIS AMAZING TIME FULL OF RESPECT AND CARING WE SPENT THERE AFTER OUR REST WITH SOME RUSSIAN WOMEN!
    WE ENJOYED ALSO THE COFFEE AFTERWARDS IN THE LOUNGE AND OUR GERMAN FOTOGRAPHER, WHO ASKED:”ARE YOU READY?”

  6. axinia Says:

    thank you, Draupadi16, that is a wonderful story!

  7. peace Says:

    I suggest you to vist KLIA…(”,)


Leave a Reply

