1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

Patriotism or false indentifications July 4, 2008

I love the country of my parents – it is my soul and my pride

I love the country of my birth – it is my sweetness and memory

I love the country of my life – it is my cosyness and beauty

I love the country of my dreams – it is my spiritual home

I feel like a patriot of each of them-

Russia, Lithuania, Austria and India

And yet I know that I am above that.

`cause I am the Spirit.

 poem by axinia

image by vova

 

21 Responses to “Patriotism or false indentifications”

  1. francina Says:

    Namaste Axinia! i know u from Nita’s blog!
    i’m in love with india tooooooooo!
    nice poem , beautiful picture!
    have a nice day!!!!!!!

    Hi, Nice to meet you!! I saw your wonderful site, your design is amazing!!! hope we will become friends 🙂 axinia

  2. steve Says:

    Axinia, you are definitely in the wrong job – you should apply for the role of Russian Ambassador or maybe work for the Russian Tourist Board 😉 I sometimes look at things from the reincarnation point of view, in the next life I could be born in a paddy field in a remote part of China (with a new set of identifications and conditionings) so I think it is fine and natural to love your country but the Spirit really is beyond any such identifications.

  3. axinia Says:

    Steve, you are right, I love to promote Russia, but I am acutally doing the same for India, Austira and even Lithuania! It is typical for me to praise everything i love, everyone I love… it is so natural to me 🙂

    as for Russia, I really want to strengthen this point in my blogging because I feel that Russia is being treated baldly and unfair – and that since ages! I am not being piad for it and I am not expecting any recogniton for that – but I think that Russia is not dot doing well with its self-marketing/PR and I want to help here :)) Just from my heart…I am sure people can feel it!

  4. antireptilian Says:

    “And still I know that I am above that.

    `cause I am the Spirit”

    Axinia, you have hit the nail on the head. If only others would realise that their real allegiance is to their brothers and sisters, not a flag, country, leader..

  5. tomachfive Says:

    Your pic is stunning, what a great shot and composition. And your verse is from the heart, a rare thing in print nowadays. Cheers.

  6. Lovely poem, Axinia! 🙂 Once we identify ourselves with our fellow humans, boundaries become meaningless!

  7. steve Says:

    “I feel that Russia is being baldly and unfair ” – I guess I don’t have that problem because I think many people don’t really know that my country even exists or if they do they know very little about it. Sometimes it’s just easier to say I am from England rather than Wales so I don’t have to bother explaining. 🙂

    That is a nice photo by the way 🙂

  8. axinia Says:

    Steve, i did not know you are from Wales! – it is famous place, though 🙂 And, actually, positively famous 🙂 Not the same as Russia..:(

  9. Swaps Says:

    O my fellow readers, why are you so shy. Say Axinia is looking gorgeous….and that makes the photo so good 🙂
    (Compliments to Vova 🙂

    I also find the photo good, but that was not the point here. I wanted to underline with it the very personal experience about my patriotism. axinia

  10. Nita Says:

    Axinia, you look like an angel!

  11. axinia Says:

    thank you, Nita, that is the best compliment! 🙂

  12. Swaps Says:

    REminds me of Vasil Bykov….a dialogue in one of his novels:

    Guilia : Ivan, do you love your country?

    Ivan : Who else.

    Such innocent and personal love for motherland is rare these days. Nationalism passes for patriotism and unfortunately, majority of people are OK with it.

    But, you are right Axinia. Patriotism is good, but pride musn’t stop us from adopting the best from other countries too. Because patriotism must be soft, steady and personal.

  13. axinia Says:

    well said, Swaps. beautiful!

  14. francina Says:

    Thanxs a lot to have a look to my site…
    nice to meet u tooooooooo!!!
    By the way, my brother’s girlfriend
    is from Russiaaaaaaa!!! 🙂

  15. Butzel Says:

    … you have a very nice Site – Please visit my Webpage under Butzelnews Thanks and Greetings from Germany

  16. malevi4 Says:

    Классная фотка! и тема для блога тоже!)

  17. […] Patriotism or false indentifications […]

  18. Sahaja Says:

    Yes Axinia, you look like an angel!! 🙂

    Also, I have never seen a Russian, but read books…..somehow , when I see you pic, I instantly felt you were Russian …dont ask me why…..just felt….

  19. axinia Says:

    hey, that is really intresting 🙂

    I must be a pretty authentical Russian then :))

  20. Nishant AGRAWAL Says:

    Must read Gandhi on patriotism.


Leave a Reply

