1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

What was your favourite game to play as a child? June 29, 2008

image by axinia 

Do you think there is a connection between your favourite childhood`s play and your profession? This seems logical to me, however I could not find any scientific evidence on that. That is why I am asking YOU!

When I was a child, I loved to “build houses”- find a cosy corner and make it a home. I never wanted to be a teacher, a mother, an actress, a doctor or to play any other popular girlie game… In that respect I do not see much connection to my present state as I love to teach and to mother around very much 🙂 But I love to create a comfortable atmosphere and a “home” feeling wherever I am…

May be a favourite childhoods occupation gives a hint about the general nature of the person (it is creative, destructive, inventive, supportive, etc.)… Or may be it says about nothing, and a personality unfolds only much later?

1000 thanks for your ideas/experiences!

LOVE, axinia

(image by me)

 

10 Responses to “What was your favourite game to play as a child?”

  1. Swaps Says:

    As a child I used to make cranes, tractors etc , later I played with small motors.
    Today I still ‘play’ with motors …but I get paid too 🙂

    As a child (and through out my college) I dreamed of becoming a soldier.
    It is still a dream.

    There are dreams, expectations(parental & peer), compulsions(financial, family) and then there is Destiny. What one eventually becomes is a wonderful journey. Did it all start in our childhood games? I think so.

  2. Michael Says:

    I loved to play LEGO where you can build everything your Fantasie wants you too. I spent days on my own just tying to get my imagination into something “real”. That is what I do today – I try to turn my marketing ideas into real, one piece by one piece.

  3. axinia Says:

    @Swaps – intresting… there are not many men today who want to become soldiers! :)So basially this rule applies to you, right?

    @Michael – great answer, you make me think that this idea can be a good help for those, who are still looking for their professional path.

  4. Loala Says:

    Very intresting. I used to play “school” as a child and now I am teching. It was clear to me from the very beginning what wo choose.

  5. Ofcourse, Axinia! There is a link between the games children play and what they choose to become in life. However, the circumstances may not favour everybody, so they may go down a different path. But they would still indulge in their passion as a hobby. And if things work out correctly and if lady luck smiles on them, they may take it up later on as a profession.

  6. axinia Says:

    good point about hobbies, Raj – i did not think of that 🙂
    And it is also true, that sometimes hobbies grow into a profession. I wonder where my hobby of blogging will grow into?..

  7. your question is very intersting!..so when I was a child my favourite game was playing at the “theatre” with my two sister…we spent a lot of time preparing scenografies, costumes…then at school I found I’m a terrible actress!…now I work as architect in the restoration of Roman monuments!…Is there a link between the two things?

    • axinia Says:

      may be a link to what you do in your free time? Ovibouly you wanted to express yourself through action (theater), may be you are doing it in your daily life. I think being such a lovely person you do express it (even from your profile phots her and on FB I can say that!)…

  8. Olga Tchernikova Says:

    Hi, Ks’usha!
    You ask provocative questions)) It’s really curious, and I wonder now when it all started with my profession, and whether it could have gone some other way at some point..
    Another thing is, how far should we look back? When a very little girl, I spent a lot of time in the sand-box, then later I
    definitely enjoyed playing with dolls (here I often invented my
    own language as if my dolls were from some other planet, and I remember I adored immitating foreign sounds). Later on
    in junior school I played a lot of active games (hide-and-seek, ,
    “kazaki-razboyniki”, “classiki”, “rezinochki”) So, where am I now?))) Teaching English in high school! Does it make any sense?))))

    • axinia Says:

      о, какие люди! 🙂
      it does, my friend!! This language thing…it was obviously the strongest in you 😉 and the active games, i think we all palyed them, there was nothing unique about it. But inventing languages?? wow, that is really special. No wonder you are so good at linguistics now 🙂


Leave a Reply

