1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

War and Peace May 25, 2008

 image by axinia

“War cannot be avoided until the physical cause for its recurrence is removed and this, in the last analysis, is the vast extent of the planet on which we live.

Only through annihilation of distance in every respect, as the conveyance of intelligence, transport of passengers and supplies and transmission of energy will conditions be brought about some day, insuring permanency of friendly relations.

What we now want is closer contact and better understanding between individuals and communities all over the earth, and the elimination of egoism and pride which is always prone to plunge the world into primeval barbarism and strife… Peace can only come as a natural consequence of universal enlightenment…”

Nikola Tesla, “My Inventions: the autobiography of Nikola Tesla”, Hart Bros., 1982. Originally appeared in the Electrical experimenter magazine in 1919.

 

20 Responses to “War and Peace”

  1. MariaMM Says:

    I agree, peace is a natural thing. It seems though that not everyone understands it. People keep fighting for peace.

  2. Swaps Says:

    “War is terrible. But peace is so boring.”
    – General de Gaulle

    War and peace sustain each other. We cann’t have one without the other. It’s a cycle that you cann’t escape. The best you can do is be prepared.

    It’s all easy for me to philosophize because from where I come (south India), there hasn’t been a war/battle since 1799…yeah >200 years!!

  3. axinia Says:

    yes, Swaps, that is the point !

    There will be some age when there will be no wars (kind of a Golden Age again), I believe – but we need to grow a bit to that stage :))

    And… do not believe anyone that peace is boring!!
    see my post:https://1000petals.wordpress.com/2007/10/11/why-it-will-never-be-boring-if-everyone-will-be-happy/
    🙂

  4. Amit Says:

    We humans have a history soaked in blood. For coming together as inhabitants of Earth and not of Nations, we have to forgive and forget first. For peace, we have to start everything afresh. We have to remember the beginning, when God gave us one Earth to live. 🙂

  5. Swaps Says:

    Of course peace is not boring. I was alluding to principles of Taoism where we go beyond earthly opposites (war and peace) and recognize them as essential part of a cycle (human civilization). Civilization cannot stop, so we progress from one to the other. Cann’t help it.

    But for now, Axina, you can be in the comforts of hope for everlasting peace 🙂

  6. Swaps Says:

    WE can do a reality check here:
    http://www.visionofhumanity.org/gpi/home.php

    It a country-wise ranking of peace. The ranking itself is not so important as the criteria chosen and what may be said to constitute peace.

    Anyway, the world appears pretty hoy at the moment.

    Axinia, what do you think about Russia being ranked at 131!

  7. axinia Says:

    Swaps.

    really cute map! 🙂

    I love the Russia painted bood red – it goes nicely with the common image and send a messase: here it is, be afraid and watch out for this Russian monster!
    :)))

    I live in Austria, with the peace rank 10: just recently we got cases like this:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Josef_Fritzl

    or like this:http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080430122610AALmHD1

    How do they say in English ” Still waters run deep” …Bette “dangerous” Russia than “quet” Austria with such monster…

  8. Wise words, Axinia! War is one of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse mentioned in the Bible. It is one of the greatest perils of our times! 😦

  9. Raman Says:

    Unlike before when war happened only in specifics (like battlefields, place, between two well defined entities, for a well defined objective, between certain dates) war has entered every household and is raging by the day! What can you call the campus massacres of US, bombings by jehadis worldwide and passion crimes in India? Will we ever be able to fight it?

    Also, unlike the early ages, war’s objective has moved from land to many more things now – lust, greed, money, thrill and even fame!!

    There is now Ad war, cola war, media war, sports war and so on…Gaulle’s statement is interesting!!

  10. Swaps Says:

    Madame Axinia, you have a strange sense of humour 🙂 You call that map cute. Indeed.

    I see you are attached to your Rodinia. Good.

  11. axinia Says:

    Swaps
    I am not attached to Russia at all – otherwise I would have lived there 🙂
    I just find it unfair how Russia will be treated and misinterpreted – along with the fact that non of these critics and gross experts never lived there! Foreginers who visited or lived there just fall in love this Russia. I just ask for fairness, that is all.

  12. Swaps Says:

    Axinia,

    Russia has fascinated me for as long as I can remember (you know, Sputnik and Soviet Land days). It is one reason why I frequent your blog 🙂

    Even today it is often the subject of conversations with my friends. So I am distressed at the lack of liberty in Russia….I mean how can the same set-up rule at the center and regional levels for years.(In India we love to keep changing them). It’s like this…suppose you hold views that don’t find official sanction, so should it make your life miserable.

    Actually I cann’t quite put my thoughts into words, so may I recommend a movie, it’s a German movie titled “The lives of Others”. (Perhaps you have already seen it? If not, you MUST. I read you post on democracy, wanted to react but couldn’t get my thoughts in order. This movie does it).

    I was always proud of Russian friendship, but today, we are kinda drifting apart 😦

  13. axinia Says:

    Swaps,
    WE are not drifting apart! 🙂 I know more and more RUssian are going to INdia or tourism or spiritual pildrimage and that is really great!
    Politcs is not WE, right? 🙂

    IF you strongly reccoment this film, I will have a look, if I will manage to find him somewhere.

    Regarding this so called democracy – i think it has not worked out with the humanity. Probably the Sacandinavians have made it to the best level possible, others – no.

    Democracy and Russia? – ask Russians if they REALLY WANT it themselves??? Every person I talked to said that they do not need it the way the West have it. IT is really a very different mentality, and may be one should on force it on everyone?

    Regarding myself, I have a very strong drive for my own will and freedom. When I was young I was trying to combat many “Soviet” things – that is why probably my destiny has brought me to Europe… But I am kind of an exception… Most Russians are happy with the way they live and are being ruled. And I feel it is important to live them live THEIR way.
    To me personally there is something which is a standard: spirituality. And spirituality is a common value in Russia (unlike in many other countries). As soon as people are spiritual I don’t care about other things. The spirit will show them the right way, even if the rest of the world (while indulging into materialism) regards it as “dangerous”.

    Live and let other live – a wise saying goes…

  14. Swaps Says:

    (Hummm. Today I opened this page with much trepidation.)

    Axinia, I respect your views. I must confess I still feel something isn’t right. Anyway, I cann’t decide without direct experience (right now most of the info comes through blogs or documentaries).

    Yeah, I am very idealistic about Indo-Russian friendship….there must not be the slightest crack(politics included). Too much to ask for 🙂

    Axinia, most people treat spirituality as a self-help book on career, marriage, etc. Will they ever see it as search for reality(God) and absolutely nothing else?

    Now that I know you are a ‘rebel’, I doubly recommend “Das Leben der Anderen”(The Lives of Others). It was screened here…which is rare for a German movie. And if our local film society could procure it, it must not be a problem in Austria.

    May I ask if you have seen “Russkiy kovcheg”. Pardon my enthusiasm, but it happens to be one of my fav….cann’t help urging you to watch it.

  15. Swaps Says:

    “In nature there is no death or destruction at all. What occurs is the reshuffling of atoms. If there is a need or necessity to maintain the balance of ‘energy’ in this universe, death occurs.”
    -U. G. Krishnamurti.

  16. axinia Says:

    Swaps,

    you say “Axinia, most people treat spirituality as a self-help book on career, marriage, etc. Will they ever see it as search for reality(God) and absolutely nothing else?”

    Russian people are truly spiritual, belive me! I can not explain exactly, because it is a bit different than in India, but this spirituality is definitly different from the modern Western consume of Gurus` teachings and self-help tool. It is much more…

  17. Swaps Says:

    Axinia,

    I was not referring to Russians. I meant the West and of late, India, where spirituality is a big industry. If Russians are different, I am glad about it. I hope someday I will understand it.

  18. Well have to look at the big picture, sometimes. The world war II brought about some of the most astonishing scientific inventions, at a pace that was truly surprising. All this was later utilized by the scientific community of the world. One of the main reasons for the Indian Independance was the weakening of the British power due to the war. Britan was no longer able to control India with the iron hands, and ofcourse, also because the nationalist movement saw a huge momentum. But if there was no World War II, I am not sure what would have happened. There are some positives that wars do bring about (Maybe not to the warring nations)! God doesnt play dice with his subjects, perhaps.

    Destination Infinity.

  19. Devolve Says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Devolve.

  20. Sahaja Says:

    Wow….Axinia you pick gems :)…..


Leave a Reply

