1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

The power of Indian Classical Music October 27, 2007

 

Let me tell you a sort story I heard form a friend in Berlin.

There were 3 concerts of Indian Classical Music (vocal and instrumental) held by Sahaja Yogis in Berlin, Germany.

One Iranian fellow was more than astonished and commented the concerts this way.

After the first concert he said “I have to reload my mind!”

After the second concert he said “I would need at least 3 concerts to reload my mind”.

After the third concert he was deeply touched to the tears and said, he has realized why he felt so much comfortable at the concerts: “Because they were singing about God and the soul”.

—————

For those my readers who are not familiar with Indian Classical Music, I HIGHLY recommend to start listening to it. It is something so special and so alive – none of the other music kind can be compared to it – and later I will tell you why, the topic is worth a solid post…

LOVE, axinia

 

20 Responses to “The power of Indian Classical Music”

  1. sunshineforlife Says:

    Hi axinia, i would appreciate it very much if you an attach by email one indian classical music for me to listen. i hope it is not too much to ask. am curious of it now that you have mentioned of it. 😉

  2. xntricpundits Says:

    Know more about Indian classical music here
    http://www.musicalnirvana.com/index.html

  3. LostInThoughts Says:

    You can listen to Jay Kishor’s entire albums at Magnatune:
    http://magnatune.com/artists/albums/kishor-payans/hifi_play

  4. axinia Says:

    Der Sunshineforlife! – thanks for your interest. I was jsut about to send you alink, But the 3rd comment gives the exellent example: LostInThoughts has given an exellent link -you can listen to it, but have patirence 🙂 a regular piece of Indian Classical Music can alst from 30 to 40 min, and it is better you listen the whole thing, as it has a wonderful dynamic.

  5. sunshineforlife Says:

    thank you very much, Axinia.

    Just awarded you the “Fabulous Blogger Award” for your good influence to the blog world. take care always.

    Let me say thanks too to — LostIn Thoughts.

  6. sunshineforlife Says:

    hello axinia, your blog deserves this:
    http://sunshineforlife.wordpress.com/2007/10/30/my-blog-is-a-friendly-site/

    love,

    Sunshine

  7. axinia Says:

    Sunshine, you are truly TOOOOO kind to me, dear!!!!!!!!!! You are giving me too many awards, my sweet sister 🙂

  8. Sanjay M Says:

    There is a key difference in ordinary music and Indian classical music.

    Both of them give us happiness and make us more energetic – listening to dance music for example we feel our foot starts tapping… so much of energy we just do something or the other.

    In most conventional music, this gratification is instant and immediate… kind of like fast food – there is a rapid rise of energy. Whereas in Indian classical music, the rise of energy is very gentle and gradual and subtle… one gets gradually drawn into it. It demands greater patience and abilitity to listen, and with this the music can invoke really deep emotions and feelings – these make us feel more truly ALIVE than ever before 🙂

    Thanks Axina for an excellent post and bringing awareness about these beautiful ideas in your own lovely style!

    You might find this an interesting post: music out of the ordinary

  9. axinia Says:

    thank you, Sanjay, what a lovely comment! Your link is intresting indeed!
    I also like your note that indian music demands greater patience and ability to listen – indeed! And I dare to claim that it also gives a geater joy…

  10. […] Anthony St. Clair wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptThere were 3 concerts of Indian Classical Music (vocal and instrumental) held by Sahaja Yogis in Berlin, Germany. One Iranian fellow was more than astonished and commented the concerts this way. After the first concert he said “I have … […]

  11. […] Anthony St. Clair wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptThere were 3 concerts of Indian Classical Music (vocal and instrumental) held by Sahaja Yogis in Berlin, Germany. One Iranian fellow was more than astonished and commented the concerts this way. After the first concert he said “I have … […]

  12. […] shining with the child-like joy! – which is rather unusual in the sophisticated West I tell you, Indian music makes wonders, it is really the most powerful and beautiful music in the word in my opinion! And […]

  13. Ramya Says:

    I found it!!! [:)]…..
    (hope u understand)

  14. axinia Says:

    Ramya, you are doing something very intersting now :))

  15. Ramya Says:

    Ohh sorry Axinia, I actually commented on one of the other posts that I cud not find anything related to Indian music….and I could not hide my excitement that I found one….I love Music, and I learnt a bit of Carnatic music and so the interest!!

  16. Swesthika Says:

    Hi, Indian classical music…i’veyounever heard it before…
    where can u find it?

  17. Swesthika Says:

    im sorry if it is an akward question

  18. pooyan Says:

    … by the way, I know the person and he told me that for a long time, he was thinking that the singers were Indian, while they were RUSSIAN !!! (no similarity … 😉
    one more thing I wanna share with you is this link, you might enjoy it,

    http://enlightenedmusic.blogspot.com/

    it is mainly about indian music.

  19. David Says:

    I love this website, the information is great and I have bookmarked it in my favorites. This is a well organized and informative website. Great Job!


Leave a Reply

