1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

The magic of this picture… September 13, 2007

 photo by axinia

I don`t know how to explain that but there is a special magic about the above which makes me look at it again and again. I belive it is my best one out the about 300 selected on my flickr page.

I was just wondering if my most respected readers can share if they see something special about it  – or is it only me, because for some reason it may reflect the state of my being…

Is there anything?

_____________________

P.S. this post is not about self-promotion 🙂

just trying to understand some things. Thanks!

LOVE,  axinia

Relevant posts:

Beauty is Reality

 

9 Responses to “The magic of this picture…”

  1. mastmalang Says:

    When I first looked at it, it gave me a nostalgic rush for a few moments. But then it went away.

    Perhaps what you find so magical is the juxtoposition between the white colour of the flower and the dar/black backround. Or maybe its the way the petals curve and twist just the right way. Or perhaps its the way the picture is focused on parts of the flower but not the others. It could also be the green in the backround that contrasts with the rest of the picture.

    Personally, I believe it is the colours that make this picture special. They aren’t vivid but at the same time, they aren’t too subtle either.

    Maybe visualizing the picture makes your brain release certain chemicals that make you feel a certain way…?

    What did you think is so special about the picture?

  2. axinia Says:

    thank you, mastmalang – such a detalied, wonderful comment!
    Actually, the trick is that this picture do not arise any feelings in me. at all. It just makes me thoughtless… May be it is the purity of this image?

  3. radha Says:

    i tried to think about something watchin at it but i couldnt, i was just lost in the beauty of the flower without thoughts left in my mind. Thank you for posting it

  4. axinia Says:

    Radha, that is the comment I was waiting for!..

  5. Ramya Says:

    Beautiful photo…….I feel like seeing it again and again…..just seeing….n nothing else…and u wont believe, I did not even read the post yet…..I will do that now!! 😉

  6. axinia Says:

    thanks, I am happy you apprecialte – funny is that I feel the same, just wat to stare at this photo…

  7. strikenoir Says:

    yes, there really is something about the photo.
    i also like taking close up flower photos, but never tried whit ones yet.

    this one somehow brings calmness (due to the white nature of the subject), the sticking out pistils, suggest growth. the way the petals naturally curves suggest free flow of thought,. and that blurred green background is just amazing.

    graet shot!

  8. axinia Says:

    strikenoir,

    thant is the most beautiful explanation…

  9. Fatima Says:

    Wow, my mind went blank the moment I looked at this picture.

    There is such a delicate, soft and calming feel to it, it rubs off on you when you look at it. It reminds me of being still, one with all things, at peace with all things.

    the petals also look like outstretched arms. It really is a beautiful picture.


Leave a Reply

