1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

Beutiful language: German May 9, 2007

  photo Mamluke

I was fascinated by German language since was a child. Born Russian, I spent my late childhood in Germany  – though in a Russian military ghetto – where,  knowing just a couple of words I used to watch films that I could not understand. But I loved the sound of German!

I went back to Russia for my high education and actually had no plans for living in Europe. However after my studies I found myself again in the German-speaking surrounding, this time in Austria.

There is certain magic about German language that attracts me enormously. I love the sound of well-spoken German, its flowing cosiness and clarity, its solidity and safety…

When I tell people about it they are nearly shocked as for some reasons most of them dislike that language. The poor German native speakers are not used to compliments to the beauty of their language either.

But what is wrong with German? It is only the stereotypes that do not let people see and the enjoy its nature? Is it history that blocks the perception?

The beauty of German is different from the melody of Italian or heart-penetrating English. To discover the beauty of German one should read Herman Hesse (even better is to listen to his audio books) – the special rhythm and webbing of its nature could mesmerize one with its enigmatic charm!..

Grammatically seen there are some difficulties with articles (which exist almost without any logical rules) and word order – that drive the English native speakers mad, and give a hard time even for the learners from similar to German, synthetic languages.

Having Russian as mother tongue, knowing well English and Italian and having basic knowledge of French, Dutch and Hindi, I confess that GERMAN IS MY FAVORITE LANGUAGE.

LOVE, axinia

 

24 Responses to “Beutiful language: German”

  1. Ramesh Natarajan Says:

    Dear Axinia,

    Nice posting!

    I truly appreciate your never ending quest for learning new languages and your passion for it.

    Cheers,
    Ramesh Natarajan
    Dubai

    http://fusions.wordpress.com

  2. axinia Says:

    Thank you, Ramesh – learining lenaguge is like discovering new universes or dimentions to me, very enjoyble!

  3. kenzielee Says:

    My grandfather is German, and over the years I have learned a bit of German myself. I love listening to him speak, though. It is certainly a neat language.

  4. […] really nothing! – I am only trýing to find reasons for German being my favorite language, and not […]

  5. […] only 1 year ago and his German needs to be developed. As for me, I not only love German the most (I wrote about it before) but I used to teach German for foreigners. “Great combination” – said our friends, […]

  6. scriptor93 Says:

    Liebe Axina,

    es freut mich sehr zu lesen, wie sehr Dir die deutsche Sprache gefällt. Es ist eben auch die Sprache von Novalis, Hölderlin, Rilke und von Kant.

    Empfange einen Friedenskuss von einem deutschen Einsiedler

    Peter Fröhlich

  7. axinia Says:

    Danke, lieber Peter,
    hast du schon meinen Blog auf Deutsch gelesen?

    http://frauenpower.wordpress.com/

    Alles Liebe,
    axinia

  8. sina Says:

    learnening a new language is nice.no differance what language u learn.butlearnenig farsi(persian) is facinating.when u speak farsi seems u r singing.such a beautifull language!

  9. mahmoud atef Says:

    learnening a new language germany i like it and i wanna know how to speek it and i listin it was very easy

  10. Axinia, even I am fascinated by the German language. Actually German was the only foreign language I attempted to study and learn when I was in College. But I don’t have your skills to learn new languages Axinia. I hope one day I could study all the great philosophers in German itself. And I have not yet lost that hope.

    Destination Infinity

  11. Katja Says:

    Dear Axinia.

    Reading your story was almost like reading my own story.
    I never went to Germany, but the language makes my heart skip a beat when I hear it. 🙂 I’m also Russian and I’m mesmerized by the beauty of German language, but others don’t seem to be of the same oppinion about this language. 😦
    Thank you for your post because I was starting to think that I’m the only one who thinks that German is beautiful. 🙂
    I’m learning it on my own now. When I was in school I had to learn French,but I’ve never fallen in love with it like everyone else did. I fell in love with German instead ❤

    • axinia Says:

      thanks, Katja, I am surer there are more people who ove German. I have a girlfriend here who is in same awe of German…so you are definitely not alone! Please enjoy it, German IS beautiful.

      • Katja Says:

        Thanks. I do enjoy it 🙂 It sounds wonderful to me.
        But Russian is my mother tongue,so no competition 🙂

  12. mirel Says:

    Schläft ein Lied in allen Dingen,/
    Die da träumen fort und fort,/
    Und die Welt hebt an zu singen,/
    Triffst du nur das Zauberwort.
    EICHENDORFF

    ICH gestehe auch….Ich liebe die deutsch Sprache, Literatur….Österreichische Literatur
    Gruppe 47! Hans Magnus Enzensberger nannte die Gruppe 47 doch ‘das Zentralcafé einer Literatur ohne Hauptstadt! Ingeborg Bachmann, Boll….

    Novalis, Hölderlin, Rilke, Kant, Hesse….

    Muh, muh, muh, muh, muh, muh, muh!
    So ruft im Stall die Kuh.
    Sie gibt uns Milch und Butter,
    wir geben ihr das Futter.
    Muh, muh, muh, muh, muh, muh, muh!
    So ruft im Stall die Kuh.:)))))
    mein erstes Lied in der Schule!

    komischer Weise> viele Menschen streuen englische Brocken in ihre Sprache ein, um sich von anderen abzuheben. Dieser Stilisierungseffekt verliert seine Wirkung, in dem eine große Mehrheit der Gesprächspartner gute Englischkenntnisse vorweisen kann

  13. wbarnim Says:

    Thank you for that. I think I needed to hear that today after an afternoon spend with people who were bashing anything German.

  14. Stephan Says:

    I’d love to learn German. But I’m beset by obsessive thoughts about how inefficient German is as a language. The words are excessively long. The morphology is not efficient: the main method of making new words is a combining already long words. The sound system is too harsh. The grammar has the beauty of the other Germanic languages, but at times it is absolutely random: for example the plural of nouns, the articles, the gender.
    I don’t dislike German. But I seem to have a constitutional aversion to it. When I listen to German or read it for a while, I get a headache. And I’m not joking. Despite all this, I have concentrated my efforts on learning it recently. I feel learning German is a hurdle that needs to be overcome. Otherwise, I can’t move on.

    When I read the article, I was surprised that there is actually someone who considers German beautiful. But when I found out the writer is Russian, it was more understandable. The Eastern Europeans seem to have a taste for German.

  15. eversong Says:

    I agree, nothing is wrong with German, I love that language, I love when my professors spoke German, even though I don’t understand most of it (shame on me, I know, I should have pay more attention in my German class).

    But someone has mentioned that it is possible that stereotype makes German sound harsh, because well, in movies and TVs, you don’t hear normal speaking German, usually they are shoutings and yellings, that would skew your view a bit, wouldn’t it?

  16. Sasha Black Says:

    My mother tongue is Arabic, my second is English (which could be considered better than my Arabic) but for some reason I am fascinated by German and the flow of the words.
    In high-school I studied French and while tolerating it, I never found myself captured or fascinated by it the same way German does. And so this Summer after my finals end I am starting a German course, wish me luck? 🙂
    Sasha.

  17. Klaus Wessel Says:

    Interesting… (I’m German – and I love my language). Why I love it: it can be a tremendously creative language.
    It enables you to form new words by combining words.
    German can be misused – it may at times even sound as if it is a bark. But listen to a good German poem, listen
    to Schubert Lieder (preferably sung by Fischer-Dieskau) – then you will feel the incredible strength of soul that is the
    essential part of German.

  18. Klaus Wessel Says:

    Nur ein Beispiel …
    Klaus


Leave a Reply

