1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

The challenging beauty April 12, 2007

I could never force myself to do sports, despite the modern obsession with fitness I survived till now without trying any kind of it.

Funny enough, due to my ballerina-like construction people suspect I spend hours and hours in a gym. Nothing doing! – my laziness and total dislike for sports was stronger than any other argument.

But somehow I felt a need for a physical activity.

Dancing! – thought I – that would do! It is beautiful, very enjoyable and still a good training.

Popular styles like Latin-American, jazz, hip hop or ball-dancing were not attractive enough and I went for Indian classical dance (what else would you expect?), and that was very brave of me.

I found out that the style I chose is considered to be the most difficult among all the 6 classical dances – but it was too late to give up.

A few words about this art:

Kuchipudi is a fascinating Indian dance form that combines the intricate movements of classical dance with the narrative theatrical elements of drama. The result is a unique dance form that is easy to understand narrative in style, with fast rhythms, vivid expressions, and intricate graceful movements.

The technique of Kuchipudi makes use of fast rhythmic footwork and sculptures body movements.

Stylized mime, using hand gestures and subtle facial expression, is combined with more realistic acting, occasionally including dialogues spoken by the dancers.

Another unique feature of Kuchipudi is the Tarangam, in which the performer dances on the edges of a brass plate, executing complicated rhythmic patterns with dexterity, while sometimes also balancing a pot of water on the head.

This art form was so beautiful that even the Muslim kings patronized it despite its Hindu origins, and held Kuchipudi performances in their courts.

I am not interested in any performance so far, it would be great to be able to make at least some little compostions. But this amazing beauty is SO challenging – wish me luck and endurance!

LOVE, axinia

 

8 Responses to “The challenging beauty”

  1. Nita Says:

    Wish you all the best. You are going to have a lovely time. Its a real pleasure, dancing.

  2. Cool, even though I’m not much of a dancer, I defintely know fitness. I’ve tried aerobics (nothing like the art of dance) and from a fitness and strength, and endurance standpoint, I would imagine they are very similar. These women had me ‘hurtin’. Have fun, and good luck!

  3. axinia Says:

    Lots of thanks, mcgheetraining and Nita for encouragement! I will let you how I progress 🙂

  4. […] my post about Kuchipudi course I attend I promissed to follow up on that fascinating art of […]

  5. nirveda Says:

    Good luck Ms.Axinia.I ,being a classical dancer myself, have enjoyed great moments while dancing which none other could provide…all you need is sincerity and respect towards the art form..rest will come along..you may visit my blog @ nirveda.wordpress.com if you are interested to know ‘little’ more about dance..My best wishes..Get Going!!

  6. axinia Says:

    Thank you nirveda, for the comment and for the link!

  7. Sahaja Says:

    hey wow….kuchipudi is the traditional dance of the place from where I come…Its regional dance of Andhra pradesh 🙂

    are you still on course?

  8. axinia Says:

    unfortunately no, it was not convenient for several reasons. But I am willing to continue as soon as possbile!


Leave a Reply

