1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

My sister, the song of my heart!… April 10, 2007

 

This is a picture of my sister, Tatyana Samoylova who is an opera singer with divine voice.

I just came across a poem by Rabindranat Tagore which reminded me so much of her…

Her voice is so special, it goes straight into your heart and opens it. I wish more and more people will be able to enjoy it soon!

I feel this poem reflects what she feels while singing.

This song of mine will wind its music around you,
my child, like the fond arms of love.

The song of mine will touch your forehead
like a kiss of blessing.

When you are alone it will sit by your side and
whisper in your ear, when you are in the crowd
it will fence you about with aloofness.

My song will be like a pair of wings to your dreams,
it will transport your heart to the verge of the unknown.

It will be like the faithful star overhead
when dark night is over your road.

My song will sit in the pupils of your eyes,
and will carry your sight into the heart of things.

And when my voice is silenced in death,
my song will speak in your living heart.

 

6 Responses to “My sister, the song of my heart!…”

  1. Poetry Says:

    12 JUne 2007

    A silver sky

    ripe for the mirror.

    you can not see yourself in this mirror

    you can only see others

    moreover, you can only see what others choose to expose.

    Their houses, their boats, their sea-doos.

    Birds skimming low over the water could

    like as not

    see them selves if they were to look down

    as they skim low over the water

    but they never do.

    Rather they allow their reflections to chase them

    quick and sharp over the still, glistening waters

    while the bird’s mind remains ever fixed on

    food, or other birds, or escaping those damn noisy humans.

    A dense forest impenetrable as a gaze.

  2. […] 6. Favorite sounds? Musical instruments: flute, santoor.. The voice of my husband and the singing of my sister Tatiana! […]

  3. swaps Says:

    An opera singer?? A big WOW!!

    “And when my voice is silenced in death,
    my song will speak in your living heart.”

    That is way too left-sided. Super 🙂

  4. […] When this house if built, I wish my dearest soulsister Tatiana will join me one day with her husband and child, and we will all live together in this lovely house, […]

  5. Sakhi Says:

    WOWIE… she LOOKs awesome and am sure she has honey voice! 🙂


Leave a Reply

