1000 petals by axinia

the only truth I know is my own experience

Linguistic Intelligence – Word Smart March 1, 2007

Filed under: communication,жизнь,personal,thoughts,world — axinia @ 4:06 pm

I always knew my special attention was on language:

 WHAT is said is always less important to me than HOW it is said.

Long time I was sure it is only due to my Degree in Linguistics that I am so attentive to language matters. However questioning some friends with the same education gave surprising results – even people trained in languages not necesserily pay that much attention to it.

What it is then? Why is it so important to me?

You may have come across with the theory of 7 or 9 types of inteligence:

 
  • Linguistic intelligence (“word smart”):
 
  • Logical-mathematical intelligence (“number/reasoning smart”)
 
  • Spatial intelligence (“picture smart”)
 
  • Bodily-Kinesthetic intelligence (“body smart”)
 
  • Musical intelligence (“music smart”)
 
  • Interpersonal intelligence (“people smart”)
 
  • Intrapersonal intelligence (“self smart”)
 
  • Naturalist intelligence (“nature smart”)

Each person has a unique combination of all these types, however one or two are normally dominating.

I made a small rather primitive test and found out that I in fact posess”linguistic” intelligence! – not a big surprise but happy to know it for sure.

HOW IS IT REFLECTED IN MY DAILY LIFE?

  1. even after a small talk I can roughly find out about the value system of a person
  2. the interest, hobbies, worries, etc. can be easily indentified through the vocabulary one uses
  3. desires and dreams, family and friends-relationships can be seen through the linguistic awareness
  4. quite often I can even tell a person how she/he feels about something better that one can feel it herself/himself – based on the wording only

And even if it may sound manipulative, it is not – for it happens automatically without me even thinking of it! The knowledge is just there… Now I know that this is the linguistic intelligence to blame!

Today more than ever linguistic intelligence seems to be one of the leading types of human perception and activity. Communication is the key to many doors!

The deeper meaning of the linguistic turnover can be of evolutionary reason: it seems that on a planetary level we are all coming closer and closer together, starting percepting each other more as a whole, one union of Earth citizens. And language is one of the powerful instrument of this new collective conscious.

Later I will write more on the beautiful nature of a language…

LOVE, axinia

 

4 Responses to “Linguistic Intelligence – Word Smart”

  1. Sadiq Says:

    thanks a lot dear. it will surely help me. i love psychology, now this is a psychology of language. i look forward to learn more.

    love,
    Sadiq

  2. Sadiq Says:

    dear can i share this in my blog?

    reading it over, it seems, we need to be aware of the power of language, to me, one of the best gift of God.

  3. radha Says:

    I got my master degree with a thesis in “Psycholinguistic”. This very course was activated in Rome just at that time (1999-2000). it is interesting how the attention of the experts drives its focus in this way just at the beginning of the new century. it is a fascinating world, i feel very much connected with the subtle understanding of the reality too. Luv

  4. […] of my fasciantion for this theory I was observing my interactions with people around and came to a perplexing conclusion that my […]


Leave a Reply

